December 12, 2014

Best Apps for Tracfone Android Users

List of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone

View a list of the best applications to use with Android OS for Tracfone users. This list is compiled by TracfoneReviewer, with help from our readers. 
tracfone android apps 2015
See our Complete List of the Best Android Apps below!


More and more Tracfone users are switching to Android powered smartphones that Tracfone has been making available, especially as new phones like the LG Ultimate 2, Alcatel Onetouch, and Moto E are released with large screens and good performance.

Android smartphones are incredible powerful, offering many of the same functions as a laptop computer. Android is simply an operating system that is standardized which allows many different people to create applications, or programs, which can work on all the different Android devices. You can surf the web, check email, look up information, manage banking, and much, much more.

But sometimes it is hard to know exactly what you should be doing with your Android phone, and what apps are the best for making life easier, and more convenient.

So we are creating a list of the Best Apps for Tracfone Android users. And we want to hear from you! Leave a comment below with your top apps, and we'll work on adding the best to the list.

Now let's get to the list of apps!

List of the Best Apps for Android Tracfone Users

These apps are some of the most popular, and most useful and cover a variety of categories. We will try to share as many apps as are useful for using with Tracfone Android devices.

Not everyone uses the same apps, or has need of particular apps, but browse through the list and see what sounds useful to you!

1. Tracfone Specific Apps

Tracfone App
The app from Tracfone to check your balance, and manage your account. If your phone doesn't have a lot of space, you can just bookmark the Tracfone website and check your balance there.

android tracfone apps
AppMgr III app
AppMgr III
A convenient app manager that can let you move apps to your SD card to free up space. AppMgr III is especially useful for Tracfone Android users because of the limited internal space on many of the phones. AppMgr III does more than just moving apps, it also can freeze apps, and do other management tasks.

Note: Some phones won't allow you to move Apps to your SD card. You will have to root your device if you want to do that.

2. General/Productivity Apps

Amazon Kindle App
Have an entire library on your phone. The Amazon Kindle App allows you to download books from Amazon, and read them on your phone. This is a simple, powerful app that works well,
Plus, pair it with many sources for free kindle books, and you have an almost unlimited FREE supply of reading material.

Swiftkey
This app replaces your stock keyboard with one of the most popular, and best keyboards available for smartphones. Besides using advanced algorithms to track and predict your typing to speed it up, the app also looks great, and has a number of different styles and themes to choose from.

Pocket
A save for later app that makes it simple and easy to save webpages and many other things for later offline consumption. You can keep everything in one easy to find place, so you don't forget about that article or video you wanted to see.

3. Note, Task and List Apps

Evernote
This convenient app makes note taking a breeze. Jot down a to do list, or write up a few paragraphs, no matter what you are recording this app can do it. You also have great syncing functions across devices, including your computer.

best android apps 2015
Wunderlist app
Wunderlist
Managing lists and tasks is much easier with Wunderlist. It also has great syncing abilities with other devices, and is also very easy to share your to do lists with others. Where Evernote excels at note taking, Wunderlist excels at list making, both are valuable tools to staying organized and on track.

Google Keep
As a relatively new and unknown app, Google Keep is simple, and amazingly useful. It can be used for a variety of functions beyond simple list making and note taking, including setting reminders and recording photos and voice. This is a very handy app to have for when you need to run to the grocery store, or get a reminder about something at work, and it allows syncing across devices, and list sharing.

Any.do
Providing an 'all-in-one' to do list for anything from household chores, to work related tasks. Any.do is a clean and simple app that focuses on helping you remember what you need to do, and accomplish your daily goals. You can also sync between devices, and set reoccurring tasks.

4. Social Apps

Facebook
A standard for most smartphone users, the Facebook app allows you to surf Facebook with ease. The app works well, and is used by millions. Not much really needs to be said, although you do have to download an additional app if you want to use messenger, which is a bit annoying.

list of Android apps
Instagram for Android
Instagram
For sharing pictures with friends, Instagram is another great app, and a lot of fun to use with a smartphone as you can quickly snap a picture, and then share it with all your friends and family.

Other Social apps
There are plenty of other social apps, like twitter and snapchat, that we don't feel the need to go into. Social apps are much more preference based, and it usually depends on whether you have friends already using those networks.

5. Free Calling/Texting Apps

Skype
For everyone who already uses Skype on your computer, the app is fairly similar and allows you to make free calls to others with Skype, or use Skype Credit to make calls both locally and internationally. This is a convenient app, and works well between your computer and phone.

best free android apps 2015
Line app for Android
Line
Widely popular in Asia, this free messaging app is powerful and simple. Text friends, call, and even video call for free when your on a WiFi connection. A great way to stay in contact with friends and family for free.

Whatsapp
More popular in America, Whatsapp provides and great instant messenging service and has millions of users. It was recently bought by Facebook, but does not appear to be changing anything. While you don't get ads or annoying stickers with Whatsapp, you do have to pay for it after your first year. It costs $1 per year.

Google Hangouts
Another great resource from Google, Hangouts offers great group video calls and many other features. Text, send photos, and much more. One of the best for keeping in touch with people a long way away.

Textra
A replacement for the standard text messaging app, Textra offers more features, customization, and looks a lot better. Download it and you will never look back. Unlike the other free messaging apps listed above, Textra replaces your standard text messaging app with a stylish materialistically designed one. Not really a free messaging app, but a free app to replace your text messaging app.

5. Phone Management Tools

Tasker
Tasker is an automation tool, which allows you to set a wide variety of tasks to be done automatically at certain times, or with certain triggers. You can use it to do simple things like turn your cell phone to silent when you get to work, or turn WiFi off when you leave your house. It can also do a wide variety of more advanced options, and is a fun app for those who like to tinker and mess around with devices. It does cost a couple bucks, but is worth it for the convenience and fun.

Llama
If you don't want to spend money, Llama is a free alternative to Tasker and can do many of the same things. The key features include the ability to set certain profiles, like silent ringer, when you get to certain locations, like your office. Give it a test run and see what you think, and then consider if you want to pay a little to get Tasker.

IFTTT
If This Then That. Use this simple formula to create an endless array of options. For example, if the forecast calls for rain tomorrow, then send a notification. Or if I arrive/leave work, log the time to a Google doc. The options are amazing, and there are thousands of 'recipes' online that range from incredibly useful, to hilariously funny. Combine it with Tasker for even more power.

Clean Master
Clean Mater optimizes and cleans your phone to remove excess and temporary files, and close background apps to boost performance. It is a very useful app especially for those who have limited internal memory on their phone. Clean Master has a simple interface that is easy to navigate and understand even if you don't know what temporary files are.

Best Apps for Android Tracfone
Avast Android App

6. Security Apps

Avast
You should have a Security and Anti-virus app on your phone, and Avast is the best free option. It will do weekly scans, and check files you download. Avast also has a variety of other tools, and other related apps for more security and convenience.

Android Device Manager
In case you lose your phone, or it is stolen, you want to have downloaded Android Device Manager. It will allow you to locate your device, have it ring to help you find it, reset the lock screen, and even erase the data on the phone.

7. Podcast Apps

Podcast Republic
Download, listen and organize all your favorite podcasts with this easy and convenient app. Search for new podcasts, locate your favorites, and listen to them all in one place. If you don't know what a podcast is, or don't listen to them, you are missing out. Download the app and start listening and learning great new things from the thousands of free podcast shows available.

Podcast Addict
Another widely popular podcast app, use this to download, discover and listen to all your podcasts. Great search features make it easy to find new shows to follow. Seriously, if you aren't taking advantage of podcasts on your smartphone, do yourself a favor and check them out! You can conveniently download podcasts while using WiFi, and then listen to them later for free!

8. Fitness

Google Fit
This fitness tracking app will log your activities, and keep you updated on how far you are walking/running/biking. Set goals for your workout, and then track how you do. You can also track how far you walk in a day, and much more. Can integrate with other fitness apps, and Android Wear.

7 Minute Workout
Almost everyone wants to be more fit, but most of us find it hard to set aside the time for fitness. The 7 Minute Workout is a great solution, as it allows you to complete 12 different exercises in 7 minutes that improves your health and fitness. Give it a try, and start making fitness a reality. There is also another version of the app here, if you want more options.

9. Mapping/Navigation Apps

Android tracfone
Get the 1 Year card on Amazon!
Google Maps
The best when it comes to mapping and directions. If you don't already have it, download it. One feature many don't know about is that if you access Google Maps via WiFi, and save the maps for offline use, you can then navigate using GPS and saving your data.

My Tracks
A simple tracking app that can follow you in real time and give you information about distance, elevation, time, and much more. Save maps of your tracks to share with others, or for future reference. This app was created by Google.

Map My Hike GPS Hiking
A superior tracking app that can do way more than just track your hikes! See lots of detailed states for your hike, bike ride, walk, drive, and much much more! Get updates during your trip, and share your hikes with friends on Facebook.

NavFree
Traveling to a new city? Looking for a Navigation tool that won't burn through your data? NavFree is the solution! It is a free navigation app that uses maps saved on your device to navigate you through whatever city you're in. It has lots of additional features, and while it may not quite be up to par with Google Maps, it does a great job, and doesn't require data to work!

10. Music Apps

Spotify
Listen to music free on your phone. Choose a song, or artist, and enjoy a variety of songs related to it.

Pandora
A great way to discover new bands and artists, Pandora lets you pick a song, and then creates a radio station of related music that you can listen to on your phone.

Jango
Similar to the other music apps, Jango also works outside the US unlike Pandora or Spotify. Pick a song or musician, and then listen to a variety of related songs. Jango isn't quite as good as the other two options, but still works well.

11. Google Apps: (that aren't listed other places)

Google Now
Get faster access to Google and voice activated actions with Google Now. Huge number of neat features, including location based information, weather, news, and much more..

free android app list 2015
Google Drive app
Google Drive
A simple way to access your Google Drive from your phone. If you don't already use Google Drive on your computer, well, you're missing out to a whole suite of amazing and free tools. Google Drive syncs between your devices, and is great for accessing and sharing information.

Google Docs
Need to have an important document with you to reference in a meeting? Google Docs works with Google Drive, and supports a variety of document formats that you can take with you on your phone, and even create new docs as well. Easy to collaborate with others on a shared project.

Google Camera
A powerful camera application that you can use instead of your default camera. Give it a test, and you may be surprised by the improvement in features and functionality. Includes HDR+, Lens Blur, Video, Photo Stitching and more.

12. Games

android smartphone moto e
The Moto E Android phone
We want to hear about your favorite games! Let us know in the comments which games are your top picks, and we will add a list here!

We hope this list will give new Android users a good place to start when looking for apps, and possibly help Android power users find a new app to try.

If you don't have an Android phone, go check out our Tracfone Android List which shows all of Tracfone's current options for Android phones.

Currently, the LG Ultimate 2, Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop, and Moto E (click the links to view on Amazon) are the top performing phones available with Tracfone. These phones are usually available on the Tracfone website, and are also available many places online like Amazon and eBay.

You can also bring your own smartphone to use with Tracfone! Drop by our Tracfone BYOP page which includes a list of compatible phones, like the Moto G.

As the Holidays arrive, be sure to read our Tracfone Christmas Gift Guide which contains a wide variety of ideas for gifts to buy Tracfone users. This is a good resource if you just can't find the right gift for someone!

Thanks for visiting, and remember to leave a comment with your picks for the best apps on your Android device! Let us know if we missed any good options!

December 2, 2014

Tracfone Promo Codes for December 2014

Tracfone Promo Code List for December 2014

Each month TracfoneReviewer shares the latest promo codes as the become available from Tracfone and around the net. We hope you enjoy the codes, and Merry Christmas from TracfoneReviewer blog!

Tracfone Wireless is a prepaid cell phone and service provider and each month there are promotional codes that customers can use to get extra prepaid minutes for free.

When you add a 60, 120, 200, 400 or 450 minute prepaid card, there are promo codes that can be entered when you enter the PIN for the card, to get anywhere from 20 to 300 bonus minutes! The easiest way to test the promo codes is by adding the minutes online at the Tracfone website, but you can also add them on your phone, or by calling Tracfone.

We have collected and shared below the latest and greatest promo codes for Tracfone that should all work for the month of December 2014. These codes are totally free to use, and we share them for your convenience! You can also see these codes, and many more, on our main Tracfone Promo Codes page.

While you're here, don't miss out on our Tracfone Christmas Gift Guide which includes plenty of gift ideas if you're having a hard time.

And if you're thinking about a new phone, the new LG Ultimate 2, Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop and Moto E are all available, and very impressive! Each run Android 4.4, and have screens larger than 4" with lots of other great specs! Unfortunately, Android phones don't accept promo codes.

Now, let's get to the Codes for December!

Tracfone Promo Codes - December 2014

Some codes can be used multiple times, others only once, if a code doesn't work for you, try another. Leave a comment below with which codes worked for you! Each code is for a certain minute amount, or any amount of greater value (so the code for a 60 minute card can be used on any card amount).

tracfone promo codes dec 2014
Tracfone 200 Minute Card
60 Minute Card use promo code 71287 and get 30 bonus minutes for free!

120 Minute Card enter code 79679 for 60 extra minutes or code 20036 for 30 minutes

200 Minute Card use either 45394 or 23798 to receive 40 free minutes

450 Minute Card add code 91951 to get 50 bonus minutes

400 Minute/1 Year Card enter promo code 76374 for a total of 300 bonus minutes!

SPECIAL! $15 off Tracfone 400 Minute/1 Year Card - Use promo code 47770 and get $15 off! Can only be used online at the Tracfone Website.

We hope you got some free minutes from these codes, and even saved some money with the special $15 off code! If you like these codes, and tips and information about Tracfone, then join us on Facebook! We have over 500 Tracfone users in our fast-growing community!

Looking to buy minutes? You can find Tracfone minutes (some at a nice discount) on eBay and Amazon.

If you're looking for a new phone with Triple Minutes, take a look at our Android Tracfone List which has all the smartphones currently available from Tracfone. Or you can check out our BYOP page which includes a list of phones that work with Tracfone's Bring Your Own Phone program.

We recently shared about using the Moto G with Tracfone, which some of you may find very exciting.

Thanks for visiting and we hope these codes worked for you! Share with others who might also benefit from the free minutes! Merry Christmas from TracfoneReviewer!

November 23, 2014

Tracfone Gift Guide - Christmas Gifts for Tracfone Users

Tracfone Christmas Gift Ideas 2014

As the holidays quickly approach, we start to look harder and harder to find the right gifts for others. Sometimes this can be a real challenge! Certain people are just hard to find gifts for.
tracfone holiday gift guide
2014 Tracfone Christmas Gift Ideas

So we have created a Christmas Gift Guide with a wide variety of Tracfone related gear and accessories to give you some ideas for Christmas gifts this year!

Christmas can be a great opportunity to surprise someone with a new phone, upgrading them to something that will give them more minutes (like a triple minute phone) or a powerful Android smartphone.

Giving Tracfone cell phones to kids (at the appropriate age) is also a great gift, and it can even help teach them some valuable skills as they manage their prepaid minutes. The first section below will cover a range of Tracfone cell phone options,

But if you're not looking for new phones, there are plenty of other options too! There are extra prepaid minute cards that range in price and can be added to any Tracfone. There are also lots of accessories, including cases, covers, external batteries and SD cards!

Well, let's get to the gift ideas:

Tracfone Cell Phone Christmas Gift Ideas

Below are a selection of the newest smartphones along with some great value phones. All have triple minutes for life.

Newest Android powered Touchscreen Smartphones:

tracfone christmas gift ideas
LG Ultimate 2
LG Ultimate 2 - With a 4.5" touchscreen, 1.2 ghz dual-core processor, and Android 4.4, the Ultimate 2 is one of the latest smartphones available with Tracfone, and also one of the best.

The LG Ultimate 2 also has front and rear cameras, and over 4GB of usable internal memory along with an external SD card slot. Read up on all the specs for this phone, and see what others are saying, on the main page for the LG Ultimate 2.

The Ultimate 2 retails for about $130 and is not always available on the Tracfone website. However it is available through a variety of other retailers.

Where to find the LG Ultimate 2:
LG Ultimate 2 on Amazon
LG Ultimate 2 on eBay
LG Ultimate 2 on Newegg

Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop - Another recent phone from Tracfone, the Alcatel Onetouch has a massive 5" Touchscreen plus quad-core 1.2 ghz processor. It has many similar features as the LG Ultiamte 2, including front and rear facing cameras

The Alcatel comes with Android 4.4 and is the largest smartphone available with Tracfone at this time. You can see all the features and specs on our Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop page.

The Alcatel Onetouch initially was retailing for $150, but it has appeared on the Tracfone website for just $99. We're not sure if this is an error or not, or how long it will last, but look into it if you're considering this phone.

Where to find the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop:
Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop on Amazon
Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop on eBay

Moto E - Only just released, the Moto E is another smartphone with similar features as the phones above. It comes with a 4.3" screen, Gorilla Glass 3, rear camera, 1.2 ghz dual-core processor, and Android 4.4. It does not have a front facing camera, but the battery life for the Moto E is excellent.

Visit our Moto E page for full specs and details.

The Moto E wasn't on the Tracfone last we checked, but is available through other retailers for about $100.

Where to find the Moto E:
Moto E on Amazon
Moto E on eBay
and the Moto E on eBay with 1200 Minutes for $99 which is a great deal!
Also reported available at Target


Great Value Smartphones and Other Phones:

LG Optimus Fuel - Another phone recently released by Tracfone, the Optimus Fuel comes with android 4.4, a 1.2 ghz processor, and 3.5" touchscreen. This is a compact, but powerful little device perfect for those who prefer a smaller size that can easily fit in your pocket.
tracfone gift guide 2014
LG Optimus Fuel

For more features and specs, visit the LG Optimus Fuel page.

The LG Optimus Fuel retails for $80 on the Tracfone website, but is much less through other online retailers. It is even advertised as low as $10 for in several Black Friday Deals. So act quickly if you're planning to get this phone.

Where to buy the LG Optimus Fuel:
LG Optimus Fuel on Amazon
LG Optimus Fuel on eBay
LG Optimus Fuel available through many other retail stores, and Black Friday deals.

LG 306G - This is a non-Android touchscreen phone that features Triple Minutes for Life (as do all Android smartphones). It has a 3.2" screen, camera, and connects to WiFi. Get all the details on this phone by reading our Review of the LG 306G.

The LG 306G is a good choice for those who aren't interested in the extra features an Android phone offers, or are simply looking for a solid phone for calling and texting. There is also a CDMA version of this phone, called the LG 305C.

The LG 306G is usually available through a variety of retailers, including the Tracfone website.

Where to buy the LG 306G:
LG 306G on Amazon (currently $15!)

If you're looking for more phone ideas, visit our Cell Phone Reviews where we have links to lots of phones, and their reviews.

For even more options, read up on the Tracfone BYOP program, and check out the list of phones on that page as well, which includes the Moto G that can be used with Tracfone.

Lastly, if you're just looking for Android phones, see all of Tracfone's offerings on our Android Tracfone List.

Now for some more holiday gift ideas!

Tracfone Accessories and Prepaid Minute Gift Ideas

Not everyone is in need of a new phone. But there are lots of other useful accessories that will make anyone already using Tracfone very happy.

The first option below are additional prepaid minutes for Tracfone. With Tracfone, you can buy prepaid cards of various amounts, and then use the unique PIN on each card to add minutes to any Tracfone device. This makes giving a prepaid card as a gift very easy, and is a great way to say, 'I want to stay connect!' to your friends and family.

Prepaid minutes can be purchased both online, and in stores. The benefit of buying online is that you can sometimes find a discount. Below are a variety of options for buying Tracfone Prepaid Minute Cards.

List of Prepaid Minute Cards

tracfone gift ideas
Tracfone 400 Minutes/ 1 Year card
Every Tracfone user knows how useful extra minutes on their phone can be. It is always nice to have a surplus of minutes or service days to allow you not to worry about it.

Buying minute cards online or in stores is very easy, and there are lots of different options, depending on how much you want to spend.

60 minute prepaid cards are the cheapest, at about $20, and give the user 60 additional minutes plus 90 more service days. The options continue, as you have a 120 minute card, 200 minute card, and 450 minute card, each a little more expensive, but giving more minutes. There is also a 400 minute card that comes with a full year of service and is usually about $100.

Where to Buy Tracfone Minutes:
Find Tracfone Prepaid Cards on Amazon
Find Tracfone Prepaid Cards on eBay
Find Tracfone Prepaid Cards in stores like Target, Walmart, Best Buy, Dollar General, and many gas stations and other retailers.

If you buy on the Tracfon website, the minutes will be added electronically rather than getting a physical minutes card with a PIN.

Be sure to also visit our Tracfoen Promo Code page to get additional minutes for free when adding a new card. (note that promo codes don't work with Android phones.)

Tracfone Cell Phone Cases and Covers

A cell phone cover or case can go a long way in protecting a cell phone, and add a nice accent or style to the phone. There are usually many options for each phone, especially for the more popular phones.

Smartphones especially benefit from a case or cover, which adds extra protection, and can even make the phone waterproof, depending on the case..

You can search for Tracfone cases on Amazon or eBay and find many options. If you search for the name of the phone, plus 'cover' or 'case', you should be able to find a number of options.

There are also plenty of options for screen covers, and even leather cases. Just be sure you know the type of phone you are buying the case for.

Some retail stores like Best Buy, Dollar General and others, may have cases and covers that fit Tracfone devices.

Cell Phone Chargers and Other Accessories

There are plenty of other gift ideas that a cell phone user may find useful, including car chargers, external batteries, and extra memory.

Below are some accessories that work with almost all phones from Tracfone, and will certainly be useful for Tracfone users.

Cell Phone Charger/Car Charger
An extra charger or car charger is a handy accessory to have especially for smartphone users, as these phones usually need to be recharged every 24 hours.

Many phones are using a standard Micro USB port for charging. You can find lots of options on Amazon for a Micro USB car Charger.

Some Tracfone devices use a variety of other connections, so you should check which connection you need before buying a charger.

Cell Phone Mount
Another handy idea (or hands-free idea) is a cell phone car mount, which holds the cell phone so you can keep your hands on the wheel.

Many mounts will hold a variety of different phones, and make using the phone's GPS much easier.

Cell Phone External Battery Charger
Smartphones are useful in so many ways, ranging from keeping in contact with others, to listing to music and playing games. But the battery just seems to drain so quickly, and sometimes we don't have access to a charger.

That's when you can use an external battery pack to store a charge for when your phone needs to be recharged while in a remote area.
tracfone gifts 2014
Solar Powered Charger

There are a wide variety of options to choose from, and a handful of different colors too.

If you really want freedom from the electricity grid while keeping your phone charged, check out Solar Powered Cell Phone Chargers, which are really cool power producing options. Pair this with an external battery pack, and you can stay charged no matter where you are in the world.

Micro SD Memory Storage
Most Tracfone cell phones have a slot for a Micro SD card which can store extra pictures, music, videos, games and more.

This is a convenient gift idea, and there are lots of options ranging form 2 or 4 GB up to even 32 GB.

Amazon offers a lot of options for Micro SD cards, and you can find them in the electronic sections of almost any retail store.

Be sure to double check that the phone will accept a Micro SD card, and that you choose the correct size. Most Tracfone Smartphones will accept up to 32 GB.

Tracfone Gift Guide Conclusion

We hope these ideas will give you some options for gifts for others, or even yourself. This list is not exhaustive, and if you have other ideas let us know in the comments! There are many more phone options, and plenty of other Tracfone related accessories, but these will help get your ideas going.

Be sure to also check out our Black Friday and Christmas Deals List which we will continue to update through the holidays!

Join our community of over 500 fans on Facebook where we post all the latest news, deals and updates. Plus lots of other people share great info too!

Thanks for visiting, and Merry Christmas from us here at TracfoneReviewer!

November 14, 2014

Black Friday and Christmas Deals on Tracfone!

List of Black Friday Sales and Deals on Tracfone

tracfone black friday sale
Black Friday Tracfone Deals!
As the holidays approach, there are lots of deals out there, and we want to provide a place to share them!

This post will share the best deals and places to find sales on Tracfone related gear, including phones, minutes and accessories.

We are counting on you, our loyal readers, who have already been sharing tips and deals on our Facebook page. Now, you can share the deals on the comments below, and find new deals for the phones and other gear you're looking for!

We will be including all deals for Black Friday through Christmas time, as there should be plenty of exciting sales.

Tracfone, which is a prepaid cell phone and service provider, has a number of new phones available including the LG Ultimate 2, Alcatel Ontouch Icon Pop, and LG Optimus Fuel.  Each of these phones runs Android 4.4, and offer all the typical features of a smartphone.

There are also a number of phones which work with Tracfone's 'Bring Your Own Phone' program, and can make great gifts. Visit our Tracfone BYOP page for the full list, which includes the likes of an iPhone 4S, and even the Moto G.

Black Friday, Cyber Monday and Christmas Sales:

These deals are for Tracfone related products that are discounted for the holidays, and may be available either in store, online or both.

Kmart - Black Friday - LG Optimus Fuel - $9.99 - LINK 
         Sears, Bestbuy, Meijer and others have the same deal

Dollar General - Black Friday - LG 305c, 306G for $9

Radio Shack - Black Friday - LG 440G - $2.99 - LINK

FRYS - Current Deal - New Verizon Moto G for $48 with promo code 4397819 - LINK
(a verizon Moto G can be used, after 6 months, on the Tracfone BYOP program.)

We will continue to add deals to this list as we find them.

Not a black friday deal, but the Moto E on eBay with 1200 Minutes for $99 is a great deal!

If you don't know about our Tracfone Promo Codes page, be sure to take a visit. You can use promotional codes to get extra minutes on your phone for free. But these codes don't work for smartphones.

Do check out our Android Tracfone List, which has all the current smartphones in one easy to find place. Quickly compare features, and choose which one might be best for you.

Thanks for visiting, and leave comments with any deals you find!

November 13, 2014

Use the Moto G with Tracfone BYOP

How to Use the Moto G on Tracfone: A Guide by TracfoneReviewer

This Guide to using a Motorola, Moto G on the Tracfone BYOP program is put together by TracfoneReviewer with help from many visitors to this blog who shared their knowledge and experience.

moto g tracfone
Use the Moto G on Tracfone BYOP
The Moto G is a very popular mid-level smartphone widely available on many carriers, and unlocked. But wouldn't it be nice if such a solid Android phone were usable with Tracfone prepaid service? Well keep reading...

Tracfone is a prepaid, low cost cell phone and service provider. They offer minute cards with varying amounts of minutes, and cell phones to use the minutes with. 

In 2013, Tracfone first began offering Android powered smartphones for use on their prepaid network. Since then, they have continued to add new Android phones to the list of phones they offer. These Android phones are locked to Tracfone, and cannot be used with other providers. (See the full list of phones, with basic specs and features compared, on our Tracfone Android Phone List.)

And while the Android phones they offer are getting better, like the LG Ultimate 2 or Moto E, they still are a little behind, and have limited options.

And then came along the Tracfone BYOP program.

Introduction to Tracfone BYOP

The 'Bring Your Own Phone' program, or Tracfone BYOP, allows users to bring a wider variety of smartphones to use with Tracfone prepaid service. Phones are limited to only those that use Verizon 3G, but this still offers some great possibilities, including the Motorola Droid 3, Samsung Fascinate, and even the iPhone 4S.

See the full list of phones, and all the details on the program, on our Tracfone BYOP page.

These are pretty good phones, but not all of them have the latest operating systems, and some are a few years old. It would be nice to have a newer phone, with the latest OS and decent screen, with Tracfone's super low cost service. However, BYOP phones do receive Triple Minutes for Life which is nice.

The details on which phones work with Tracfone BYOP (beyond that it must be Verizon 3G) are a little murky. And it doesn't help that Customer Service are notorious for giving out bad information and telling customers one phone won't work, when later it does end up working. 

But there were hopes for the Verizon branded 3G Moto G, which retails for just $100 (or less) and is for use with Verizon prepaid service. 

Now, multiple sources are confirming activating a Moto G on Tracfone, so we are sharing this information with you so that you can have the option of using the Moto G with Tracfone BYOP if you so desire.

What is the Moto G?

The Moto G is an Android powered smartphone created by Motorola while they were owned by Google (Motorola is now owned by Lenovo)

The Moto G has a first and second generation, but we will be talking only about the first generation Moto G which was released in 2013. The newer Moto G (2nd gen) which was released in Sept. 2014, does not work with Tracfone at this time.

The Moto G (1st Gen) is a workhorse kind of phone that does the daily tasks efficiently and painlessly. It has a 4.5" IPS display with Gorilla Glass 3 protection that is stunning, especially when compared to more expensive phones. It features front and rear cameras, with flash and autofocus on the rear 5 MP camera.

Let's take a quick look at the list of specs for the Moto G:

Moto G Specs and Features

The Moto G has a number of features that are somewhat similar to the Tracfone LG Ultimate 2, with several noticeable improvements.
Moto G tracfone byop
Moto G Front and Back
  • Latest Android OS - Currently 4.4.4
  • 4.5" IPS Touchscreen (720x1280)
  • 5 MP Rear Camera, 1.3 MP Front Camera
  • Quad-Core 1.2 Ghz Processor
  • Adreno 305 Graphics
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory
  • Micro USB and 3.5mm headphone slots
  • GPS
  • FM Radio
  • Battery Talk time 24 hours
  • See even more specs at GSMArena.

A couple of key features that put the Moto G ahead of any of Tracfone's current phones are the processor, Internal Memory, Battery Life, Operating System, and Touchscreen.

The processor is a powerful quad-core 1.2 Ghz Cortex A7, a multitasking champ that runs well with the 1 GB of RAM. Internal Memory is 8 GB (some have 16) which is 4 GB more than current Tracfone devices, and is enough space to load all the apps you want.

The touchscreen is beautiful, and has plenty of resolution for this kind of price. The Moto G's battery is amazing, and can easily last two full days with moderate to low use. Surprisingly, the phone also charges very quickly. The long batter life isn't due to a large battery, but to the processor and other power-saving features.

Lastly, the Moto G will be getting Android 5.0 when it comes out, which none of Tracfone's other smartphones will get (except perhaps the Moto E). If you want the latest Android OS, the Moto G has you covered.

The Camera on the Moto G is fine, but doesn't really stand out, and can't compete with high-end devices like an iPhone or Nexus 6.

Finally, the fit and form of the Moto G is nice and comforting, giving the user a feeling of sturdyand ergonomic  construction.

Well, as you probably guessed, we are pretty big fans of the Moto G because of two key points: Price and Quality. For the money, there is probably no better phone currently available (besides the 2nd gen Moto G of course). But enough about the phone, time to share exactly how to get a Moto G working with Tracfone!

How to Use the Moto G on Tracfone BYOP

Now that you are familiar with what the Moto G offers, and what the Tracfone BYOP program is, we are going to share exactly how to get the Moto G to run on Tracfone BYOP. Note, there is no guarantee that a particular Verizon Moto G will work with Tracfone, but if you have the patience and are willing to take a risk, it is possible.

Step 1 - Find a used or refurbished Verizon (or pageplus) Moto G (1st Gen) on Amazon, eBay or elsewhere. The phone needs to have been used on Verizon prepaid for at least 6 months (we have not confirmed this, but it appears to be the case).

moto g on tracfone prepaid
Verizon Moto G
Step 2 - Go to Tracfone's BYOP page and enter the ESN/IMEI/MEID and follow the steps to register it, which includes a $10 activation charge. Note, this is the step that you might have the most difficulty getting through, as phones on Tracfone BYOP seem to be required to have been used on Verizon for a certain time, but no longer be active. If your phone fails the first time, you can try calling customer service, but that can be a challenge. Best advice from users is to have patience, and keep trying.

Step 3 - Once registered, log into your Tracfone account on the Tracfone website and choose "Transfer my Number and Service from One Tracfone to Another" and follow the steps there.

Step 4 - Your Moto G should be active in a few hours, or up to 24 hours. If it doesn't become active, you may have to call customer service to sort things out.

And now you have a Moto G active on Tracfone BYOP! This step by step guide was originally provided by an anonymous Tracfone user for TracfoneReviewer to share here. Thanks anonymous user!

Be sure to leave questions, thoughts and your experiences in the comments.

User Comments, Reports and First Hand Experiences

We want to share some of the comments and first hand experiences below for your convenience.

From Anonymous on Nov 4th, 2014:
Update on:November 2, 2014 at 3:38 PM My Moto G came today and I am on Tracfone, no problems and did it on-line too. This is a fantastic phone clear picture loud sound and it is like greased lightning. $9.99 for BYOP transfer and if you have an account just pick transfer you number to new phone. Look for Moto G refurbished and Verizon and Page Plus, clean ESN and right now going for less than $70.00 on Amazon. What a buy! Now it is learn how to operate this baby!
From Anonymous on Oct 18th, 2014:
Unlocked post paid verizon Moto G worked no problem. I am guessing this phone was flashed by ebay seller. It was advertised as being good for "PagePlus" also
From Anonymous on Oct 12th, 2014:
so all statements are not true to all extent i bought a new droid x2 "mb870"? no contract phone witch according to this post wont work anyway my steps to make it work step one set up with tracfone this alone wont work it will get activated to your account but the phone will not go through the activation to get that to work i had to call the (Verizon prepaid activation number "number" when i did this i received my telephone number (to let you know at this point i was completely pissed with tracfone and was just going to go to Verizon) when i got my number i thought at first it was a Verizon# so i went to the verizon site and entered the number but it said it wasn't a verizon number so i called back the tracfone support they said this is a tracfone number my best guess is that when i called the verizon act number it sent the unlock code well after a few min with tracfone the phone works.
The last comment, while a little hard to understand, seems to indicate that it may be possible, in a roundabout way, to activate new Verizon phones with Tracfone if you follow the right steps.

We hope this information, and the comments and input provided by anonymous users, will help you be able to activate a Moto G on Tracfone, if you so desire. Be sure to let us know how it goes, by leaving a comment below.

Be sure to visit our Tracfone BYOP page where there is lots of general information, and a lot of user comments. Also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page if you are looking for a new phone, but may want an easier route than the BYOP program. The Moto E is a great option, with somewhat reduced features compared to the Moto G, but still a solid phone.

We also share Tracfone Promo Codes each month, but unfortunately these codes don't work on Android phones.

If you're curious about how minutes work with smartphones, read our guide, How Minutes Work on Tracfone Android Phones. : D

Thanks for visiting! We will continue to update this as information becomes available. Keep up to date with us by following on Facebook!

Additionally, you can find a new Verizon Moto G on www.frys.com and use promo code 4397819 to get it for $48. But you may have to use it on Verizon prepaid for a few months before it will work on Tracfone. Thanks C. P. for the tip!