April 16, 2014

LG Optimus Dynamic II Review

Review of the Android LG Optimus Dynamic II by Tracfone

This review by TracfoneReviewer, will cover the features, specs, buying information and overall opinion for the LG Optimus Dynamic II (LG L39C) from Tracfone.

LG Optimus Dynamic II LG L39C front
Front of the LG Optimus Dynamic II
The LG Optimus Dynamic II is essentially the replacement for the somewhat underwhelming (although much cheaper) LG Optimus Dynamic that Tracfone released with three other Android Smartphones, the Samsung Galaxy Centura, Huawei Glory, and ZTE Valet, in mid 2013.

The Dynamic II is for use with Tracfone prepaid wireless service, and will not work with other service providers. Tracfone is a low cost, prepaid cell phone company throughout the US and they have several other companies under them, including StraightTalk and Net10. But Phones from one will not work with other companies.

The Dynamic II, along with the other Android Smartphones offered by Tracfone, runs on Verizon's 3G CDMA network. Be sure to check how the coverage in your area is before buying this phone.

Let's get straight to the Features and Specs for the Dynamic II.

LG Optimus Dynamic II Features and Specs:

This smartphone comes with several impressive and convenient features.
  • 3.8" Touchscreen
  • Android 4.1 'Jelly Bean' with access to thousands of apps on Google Play
  • Triple Minutes for Life
  • Separate talk/text/data
  • 3G speeds on Verizon's network
  • WiFi Connectivity
  • Bluetooth
  • 4GB Micro SD card included
  • 3MP camera
  • MP3 Player
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • GPS
  • Gravity/Shake/Tilt sensor
  • Mobile Web, Email, Text, Caller ID etc.
  • Handsfree speaker
  • Voice Dialing
LG L39C Specs and Dimensions:
  • Phone Size: 4.43" x 2.55" x 0.47"
  • Screen Size: 3.8'
  • Weight: 4.44 OZ
  • 1 Ghz Processor
  • 512MB RAM
  • Compatible with up to a 32GB Micro SD card
  • Battery Life: 8 hours talk, 11 days on Standby
If one compares the Dynamic II to the Dynamic, the Dynamic II is basically an improvement in almost every category. Screen size, battery life, processor and Android OS are all improved over the older version, and even over some of the other Android offerings from Tracfone.

Let's briefly highlight some of the features we like, and don't like on the LG L39C:

LG Optimus Dynamic II - Likes and Dislikes:

What We Like About the Phone:

He Dynamic II comes with Android 4.1, which is a newer version of the OS, but not the newest (the newest is currently 4.4). However, this is one of the newest versions that Tracfone is offering.

LG Optimus Dynamic II Review
Google Maps on the LG L39C
For those that might be unaware, Android is an operating system like Apple or Windows 8 but for cell phones. It allows you to have access to thousands of apps (like programs) that give the phone a huge list of possible features, depending on which apps you install. For more information, visit Google Play.

Screen size: The LG Optimus Dynamic II comes with the largest screen size of any Tracfone yet, at 3.8 inches (measured diagonally). This makes it easier to see things, easier to read things, and provides more area to work on the phone.

To give some perspective, the older, LG Optimus Dynamic had just a 3.2" inch screen and the even older LG 800G had even less at 2.8". The other Android smartphones from Tracfone have 3.5" screens.

Additional points about the LG L39C: The phone comes with a 3MP camera which will take good pictures outdoors, but probably will major problems in low light. WiFi has been reported as quick decent, and is a great way to save your data. Just make sure you turn off data when not using it!

There are many other great features included with this phone which you can see in the feature list above. Now let's take a look at some shortcomings for this phone.

What We Dislike about the LG Optimus Dynamic II

First off, this phone is, at this time, the latest and greatest offering from Tracfone, so there is a lot that it does right. However, we do want to point out a few shortcomings, or things we wish Tracfone would change.

The internal memory and RAM are still somewhat small compared to other modern smartphones. The 512mb of RAM is decent enough, but if you load up a lot of apps, you might push this phone to its limit pretty quickly. The Dynamic II has a little less than 2GB of internal memory for apps and other storage. This is OK, but if you plan to store a lot of movies or pictures, get a large SD card and try to put it on there. (This phone does come with a 4GB SD card which is nice).

The LG Optimus Dynamic II runs on Verizon 3G, along with all of Tracfone's other smartphones, and gets fairly good connectivity and coverage. However, roaming on these phones is not good, so if you travel frequently, you might want to wait to buy a new phone.

Finally, Promo Codes no longer work with Android phones from Tracfone which is a disappointment.

Adding and Tracking Prepaid Minutes on the Dynamic II

The way your track minutes, and how minutes are split up on the Android phones from Tracfone are a bit different, so we will cover that here.

Data, Talk and Text are now split into three separate 'pools' so that when you call or use data, you will still have the same number of texts as before. (EX: If you add a 200 minute card, it will be automatically tripled, and you will receive 600mb of data, 600 minutes for talk, and 600 texts).

This is a pretty good deal for almost anyone, except those who might do a lot more texting than calling or surfing the web. However, there are free apps that will text others for free when on WiFi or Data.

To check your airtime balance:
The easiest way to check your airtime on the LG Optimus Dynamic II is to download Tracfone's Airtime App. It is pretty simple to set up, and you can add airtime through it as well. You can almost go on the Tracfone website and check your account from there.

Phone Covers and Cases for the LG L39C:

The Dynamic II is prone to scratches, especially on the glass touchscreen, so it is a good idea to get a case and screen protector.

The Thousand Eight rubberized L39C cover is a good option, or you can view all the cover choices on Amazon including screen protectors.

Overall Review and Buying Tips for the LG Optimus Dynamic II

lg optimus dynamic II review
Dynamic II on Amazon
The Dynamic II is a sleek, modern smartphone that is honestly one of the best choices from Tracfone at this time. It has a larger screen than any other phone, and the rest of its features are similar or better as well.

Users have been reporting a large number of positive reviews, with few problems unlike the ZTE Valet or older Dynamic. (the Valet has had many reports of poor WiFi connection, and the old Dynamic is slower, and smaller).

Retailing for about $110, the LG Optimus Dynamic II is $99 on Amazon at this time, and can also be found at a great deal on sites like eBay, HSN and others.

If you check out the phone on Amazon, it has received an average rating of 4.2 out of 5, and there are a number of questions and answers available for additional information.

We do want to mention that there is a new phone on the horizon coming from Tracfone: The LG Optimus Fuel (LG L34C) which seems to have Android 4.4, but possibly a smaller screen. We will update when there is more information.

Thanks for visiting and reading, and be sure to leave a comment below with your questions, or your thoughts on the LG Optimus Dynamic II.

If you're phone shopping, check out all or reviews on the Cell Phone Reviews page.

You might also want to see the Top Phone Deals for April

Additional Resources:
LG Optimus Dynamic II Tutorial - View the full and interactive tutorial to learn more about the Dynamic II

LG Optimus Dynamic II User Guide - This is a complete, 80 page PDF user guide.

April 2, 2014

Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2014

New Tracfone Promo Codes  - April 2014

We have created below a short list of just the promo codes that are valid and working for April 2014. These codes are provided by TracfoneReviewer here for your convenience and to help you get some free minutes! We also have a full list on our main promo codes page.

tracfone promo codes april 2014
Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2014
Tracfone Wireless is a prepaid cell phone company that offers low cost cell phones and prepaid service cards. Tracfone also offers promotional codes for users to enter when adding a new prepaid card to get extra minutes for free.

You don't need to do anything to get the minutes besides finding the codes below, and entering them along with your prepaid minutes card.

Here at TracfoneReviewer, our goal is to provide you with information and money saving tips, including codes for free minutes! So we hope you enjoy the minutes, and leave a comment with feedback.

We do more than just codes, check out our cell phone reviews!

Now, let's get to the codes for April 2014!

Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2014

The codes are for 60 minute cards up to the 450 minute card and remember that you can use a code for the specific card amount, or any prepaid card of greater value. (You can use a 200 minute card code with the 450 minute card etc.)

60 Minute Card - get 30 minutes free with code 84464

120 Minute Card - also 30 minutes free with code 66906 (or you can use 84464)

200 Minute Card - grab 40 bonus minutes with code 29224 or 38361

400/1 Year Card - best deal, get 250 minutes free with code 90518 or 56557

450 Minute Card - 50 bonus minutes using code 93528

These are the Tracfone promo codes for April 2014! If you're looking for more options, head over to our main promo codes page. Leave a comment with how the codes worked for you.

You might want to look at our Top Deals and Discounts on Tracfone Cell Phones for April or learn about the news of iPhone 4/4s working with Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting!

March 26, 2014

Tracfone Deals and Sales for April 2014

Great Deals, Discounts and Sales for April on Tracfone Phones

Tracfone deals
Deals and Discounts for Tracfone Phones
There are always lots of deals going on around the internet but it can be very difficult to try to keep up with them. So we have for you some of the better deals currently available on Tracfone Cell Phones.

Tracfone is a prepaid wireless cell phone provider that offers low cost phones, and prepaid cards/plans for use in America.

Tracfone recently started selling Android powered smartphones as part of their offering. You can read our reviews of these phones on our Cell Phone Reviews page.

We have collected here for you several great deals, so let's get to them!

Deals, Discounts and Sales on Tracfone Cell Phones

Here are 3 deals we have found and would recommend if you're in the market for a new cell phone:

1. Motorola EX431G - QWERTY Keyboard for less than $10!
The Moto EX 431G comes with a full QWERTY keypad for fast texting and typing. It also has a 2MP camera, MP3 player and all the other features Tracfone's usually have.

At just $7.99 on Amazon, this phone is a steal. It could serve as an inexpensive backup phone, or a great primary phone. So check it out, and see what you think.

2. LG Optimus Dynamic II (LG L39C) - Newest Android for $90
The LG Optimus Dynamic II is Tracfone's latest offering for Android Smartphones. The Dynamic II comes with a large, 3.8" screen, Triple Minutes for Life, and Android 4.1.

Currently on sale for $89 on Amazon, this phone is filled with great features, not to mention the potential of all the apps available through Google Play.

You can read up on the Specs and other Information for the LG L39C in our recent post.

3. ZTE Valet with 600 Minutes Bundle for $60
Buying a new phone bundled with minutes is usually a great deal, and this deal with the ZTE Valet is no exception!

The ZTE Valet comes with Android 4.1, a 3.5" screen, and Triple Minutes. It is one of 5 Android powered smartphones Tracfone recently release . You can see our full review of the ZTE Valet for all the details.

This deal for the ZTE Valet plus 600 minutes for $60 on Amazon is a great bargain because the 600 minutes would normally cost $40 - making the phone only $20!

These are some great deals, but also have two more bonus deals we want to share with you. These deals were posted on the TracfoneReviewer Facebook page (follow us for all the latest deals, updates and promo codes!)

Moto EX 431G with 2000 minutes for $79 on HSN
Need a ton of minutes? This is a great bargain for all the minutes, and you get the MotoGo to top it off!

ZTE Valet for $50 from BestBuy.com
If you're just looking for the ZTE Valet phone, this is about the lowest we've seen it without a minutes bundle like the one listed above.

We hope you find these deals useful, and most importantly that they help you save money!

Find a deal? Post it below or on our facebook page for others to see it!

Don't forget about our Tracfone Promo Codes page, which we keep updated for each month!

Thanks for visiting, and be sure to share with a friend to help them save money shopping for a phone!

March 16, 2014

iPhone 4 and 4S coming to Tracfone BYOP?

It May Soon (or already) be Possible to use the iPhone 4 and 4S with Tracfone

tracfone iphone 4 4s
It may be possible to bring an iPhone 4/4S to use with Tracfone service
We recently got a tip from a visitor that Tracfone may be accepting iPhone 4 and 4S for use with their 'Bring Your Own Phone' program which already allows users to bring CDMA smartphones to use with Tracfone service.

If you visit the following link, it appears that the iPhone 4 and 4S will work with Tracfone service:

iPhone 4/4S with Tracfone Service

The details are still emerging, and we haven't been able to test whether an iPhone 4/4S will work with Tracfone, but it appears like it might.

So, it may soon be possible to use an iPhone, like this CDMA iPhone 4 on Amazon with Tracfone service. Just remember that it must be a CDMA iPhone that is setup for use on Verizon.

tracfone iphone 4 4s
iPhone 4 cdma
We will keep you posted on these exciting Tracfone rumors, and be sure to leave a comment if you find out any new information.

Many Tracfone users are already reporting that phones like the Motorola Droid, or HTC Incredible are working with Tracfone's BYOP program, so it is exciting that they will be expanding the phone options to Apple products.

Just remember that for now, phones need to be for Verizon CDMA to work with Tracfone.

If you're not so interested in trying to figure out whether a phone will work with Tracfone, consider the newer LG Optimus Dynamic II, which comes with some great features, and under $100/

Also, for those who still have a regular Tracfone, check out our updated Tracfone Promo Codes for March 2014.

Thanks for visiting, and leave a comment with your thoughts or questions!

March 5, 2014

Tracfone Promo Codes for March 2014

New Tracfone Promo Codes - March 2014

Listed below are new Tracfone codes for March for all minute cards. These codes are valid through the end of March and are provided by TracfoneReviewer for your convenience.

tracfone promo codes march 2014
Tracfone Promo Codes for March 2014 below!
Tracfone is a prepaid wireless cell phone provider that sells phones and minutes. When refilling your phone with a prepaid minutes card, you can use these promotional codes listed below to get 20-250 extra minutes for free.

To use these codes, simply enter them when adding your card when asked if you have any promo codes.

This list of codes are just the ones guaranteed to work for March. Be sure to view our Full Tracfone Promo Codes page where we post many more codes.

Here at TracfoneReviewer, we strive to make these codes easy to get, and easy to use. So we hope you find this useful! Leave a comment with any questions or thoughts.

Now, lets get tot he promo codes for March 2014!

Tracfone Promo Codes for March 2014

These codes are ordered by refill minute card, and remember that promo codes will work for a specific card, and any card of greater value. (example: a code for a 60 minute card will also work for 120, 200 etc. minute cards).

60 Minute Card - use code 84464 and get 30 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card - enter promo code 47026 for 20 bonus minutes (or use 84464 for 30 bonus minutes)

200 Minute Card - code 33081 will give you 40 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card - use 93528 for an extra 50 bonus minutes

400 Minute/1 Year Card - enter promo code 43431 or 40843 for 250 bonus minutes (may expire March 20th)

Those are the promo codes for March 2014! Hope you enjoy the free minutes!

Remember that you can also visit our main Tracfone Promo Codes page for all these codes and many more if you are looking for more options.

Thanks for visiting, you may find our recent posts on Tracfone Deals and Sales or The Best Tracfone Cell Phone interesting and useful.

Be sure to leave a comment with your questions, and what codes are working for you!

February 28, 2014

What is Tracfone?

What is Tracfone Wireless?

What is tracfone
Tracfone Company Structure
(Click to expand)
This is a question we see from time to time, and while the short answer is that Tracfone is a prepaid cell phone company, it does get a little more complicated.

We want to provide here a quick and concise explanation to help everyone understand who Tracfone is, and what they do. Let's get to it.

Tracfone Wireless INC is a company under one of Mexico's largest telecommunication companies called American Movil. Tracfone then also has other wireless cell phone companies under them. There are quite a few:

  • TracFone
  • Net10
  • Straight Talk
  • SafeLink Wireless
  • Telcel America
  • Simple Mobile
  • Page Plus Cellular

Each of these companies is different, offering different phones, minute plans, etc. So it can be easy to think they are all the same, because they are all owned by Tracfone, but they are actually all very separate.

Straight Talk and Net10 each offer various monthly plans, while Tracfone is more geared towards minute refill cards and super cheap phones.

It is important to recognize that these are similar companies, but not the same, so a phone from Straight Talk will probably not work with Tracfone. Also, Tracfone Promo Codes are specifically for Tracfone.

When thinking about which service you would want to use, you can just evaluate what your needs are. Straight Talk and Net10 have more unlimited options, while Tracfone is more for pay as you go.

We hope this gives some clarification on Tracfone, and on the other brands which seem similar. Be sure to leave a comment if you have further questions on this.

For more about Tracfone, just read our Overview of Tracfone. Also, you might be interested in our Cell Phones Review page.

Thanks for visiting!

February 17, 2014

Tracfone Deals and Sales for February 2014

Great Deals on Tracfone Cell Phones - Cheap Android Tracfones

cheap tracfone cell phone
Tracfone Cell Phone Discounts and Deals 2014
We have collected a list of five great deals on Tracfone cell phones for you to enjoy and save money. While you might not be looking to upgrade your phone, some of these deals are hard to pass up, especially if you only have a Tracfone with double minutes.

These deals are collected for your convenience, to help our readers find great deals on Tracfone devices. If you spot a great deal, leave a comment below!

Tracfone Wireless is a prepaid, low cost cell phone company that sells cell phones and prepaid minutes for use in America. They provide very affordable cell phone service and are a popular choice for many Americans who don't need an unlimited plan, and don't want to spend the money on it.

Tracfone recently released several new Android powered smartphones and you can read our reviews of them on our cell phone reviews page. We also mention some of them here, as they are now at a great low price.

Now, let's get to the deals!

Best Tracfone Cell Phone Deals

Here are five great deals on Tracfone cell phones. There are many places to find Tracfone cell phones online, but be sure you trust the website you're buying from. eBay and HSN along with Amazon are great places to shop for cheap phones.

LG 840G with Triple Minutes for $15
The LG 840G is an older Tracfone touchscreen model that doesn't have Android OS, but it packs a great list of features including Triple Minutes for Life which is a great value.

The LG 840G typically retails for $50 or $60, but it is currently available on Amazon for $15. At that price, you might want to buy it just for the Triple Minutes. You can read our full review of the LG 840G to learn more about the phone and what it offers. For a long time, it was Tracfones best cell phone, until the new Android smartphones came out.

LG Optimus Dynamic - Android Smartphone at a Great Price
The Dynamic is one of four new Android powered smartphones Tracfone recently released and comes with Android 2.3 along with many other features. While it is a somewhat older smartphone, at $25 on Amazon, it is a great bargain!

If you would like to learn more about this phone, just check out our recent review of the LG Optimus Dynamic.

tracfone cell phones
ZTE Valet
ZTE Valet with Android 4.1 for $60
The Valet is a more powerful and newer phone than the Optimus and comes with Android 4.1. It originally retailed for around $100 but we have found it for significantly less. You can get the ZTE Valet on Amazon for $60 right now.

Be sure to read our full review of the ZTE Valet to help answer any questions you might have.

Samsung Galaxy Centura Deal - $40 off the original price
For many, the Samsung name brand is a big appeal for purchasing the Galaxy Centura but was originally priced at $130. The phone does come with Android 4.0 and a large collection of other features, but best of all, it is now priced at just $89 on Amazon.

While the Samsung Galaxy Centura is not the newest phone, it is a good performer. Read our review of the Samsung Galaxy Centura to find out more on the phone.

cheap cell phones
LG Optimus
Dynamic 2
LG Optimus Dynamic 2 - Newest Tracfone Smartphone now under $100
Released a few months after the other Android Tracfones, the LG Optimus Dynamic II is a big upgrade over the first Dynamic. The Dynamic II offers Android 4.1, more system memory and many other great features. It is now available for just $99 on Amazon, which is $30 off the original price.

While we haven't completed a full review of the Dynamic 2 yet, you can still see the specs and other details on the Dynamic 2 and learn more about it.

----------
These are just some of the recent great deals we have found recently and wanted to pass along to you. There are several other websites that also sometimes have great deals on Tracfone products including eBay.com and HSN.com Let us know what deals you find!

Be sure to check out our Tracfone Promo Codes page for a full list of promotional codes that get you free minutes when you add a prepaid card.