April 22, 2015

4G LTE with Tracfone BYOP

Use 4G LTE Smartphones with Tracfone BYOP program

This post details the latest on Tracfone BYOP and 4G LTE. We will continue to update it, as well as our main Tracfone BYOP page which also contains a list of compatible phones. 

tracfone 4g
Tracfone BYOP 4G LTE 
We are excited to share the news that Tracfone has now opened their BYOP program to 4G Smartphones! Previously, only Verizon compatible 3G phones were capable of being used with Tracfone BYOP (Bring Your Own Phone). This meant the best phones you could get were the iPhone 4s, Moto G, and other similar types. While these smartphones are great, they are not top of the line.

With 4G LTE now available with Tracfone, you can use the iPhone 6, or a Samsung Galaxy S6, or many other high-end devices and get the fastest data speeds. The only requirement is that it must be able to connect with Verizon 4G service to activate.

We will dive into more details on activating your phone and what kind of requirements there are after we cover the basics of how the Tracfone BYOP program works.

How Tracfone BYOP 4G LTE Works

Using a 4G LTE device with Tracfone BYOP works similarly to bringing a 3G device to Tracfone. You will need to have your own smartphone, and it needs to be compatible with Verizon service.

Tracfone contracts with Verizon to use their cell towers for service, but everything goes through Tracfone. If you go outside the coverage of Verizon, you may lose service, or run on lower speeds.

To get started with Tracfone BYOP, you will visit this Tracfone page and check that your phone is compatible by entering your ZIP code and MEID/ESN. Following the steps, you will be prompted to buy an activation kit, which will give you a SIM card and Network Access Code.

Additionally, you can go over to SaveonTracfone.com and buy the Activation kit there. You can choose between the 4G LTE and 3G kits, and it might be a few dollars cheaper.

Most users are reporting a quick and painless process, but you should be prepared if something doesn't work right, and you need to make a phone call to customer service.

Phone Requirements and Activating on Tracfone BYOP

tracfone 4G LTE
Activation Card for 4G LTE
The requirements for what kind of phone can be activated with 4G service on Tracfone seems a little more straightforward than before. You need a device that is compatible with Verizon 4G LTE, which includes a wide variety of top of the line devices. It also needs a clean ESN, which means it can't be in contract, or stolen.

A 4G LTE device will need a SIM card to connect with Tracfone, and this will come with your activation kit. On a side note, once you have activated a Verizon compatible 4G LTE device, you can take the SIM and move it to many other devices that would not be able to activate on their own. Not all the details are clear on this, but many users are confirming switching between devices.

This could be very convenient for those who want to have a backup device, since you could just buy another phone, and then switch the SIM card to it if you ever needed to.

To activate your phone, make sure you have the 4G LTE activation kit (or start by getting it, which will be mailed to you in about a day) and then proceed through the steps on the Tracfone website or by calling Tracfone.

To review, here are the steps:

1. Get a 4G LTE compatible smartphone that runs on Verizon and has a clean ESN (is not on contract or stolen) and test it on the Tracfone BYOP website.

2. Follow the steps on Tracfone and purchase your Activation kit (SIM card) and Network Access Code. The SIM card will be mailed to you. You can Also purchase this through SaveOnTracfone.com.

3. Activate your 4G device only at Tracfone.com or over the phone.

If you have thoughts or questions on this process, check out the comments below.

Where to Find Phones for Tracfone BYOP

You need a 4G LTE capable device that is for Verizon service (CDMA) to use it with Tracfone BYOP. Fortunately, there are many different phone options, and many different retailers to choose from. Used or new will work, as long as they are not currently under contract.

One of the cheapest and easiest places to find phones is online. You can quickly browse many different options and price points, as well as used, new and refurbished. Follow the links below to get started and see some of the options. Once you have a certain phone in mind, you can search for that device.

Search for Verizon 4G LTE phones on Amazon

Search for Verizon 4G LTE phones on eBay

There are many more retailers to search including Newegg, BestBuy and more.

To get some ideas, and for a full list of compatible phones for both 3G and 4G LTE, visit our Tracfone BYOP page.

We hope this covers the exciting news about Tracfone's slow expansion into 4G LTE and hope that they will also add support for 4G on GSM networks.

Please let us know if we missed anything, we strive to provide accurate and helpful information!

If you're interested in other phone options, visit our Cell Phone Reviews page which includes many Android devices like the LG Ultimate 2, which was our pick for the Best Tracfone Smartphone.

We have also created a list of the best Apps for Android with more than 40 great apps, almost all of which are free. I have found Clean Master App to be very handy for keeping my phone running well, and reducing wasted space.

Thanks for Visiting!

April 6, 2015

Tracfone Promo Codes for April 2015

List of Tracfone Promo Codes - April 2015

Each month TracfoneReviewer collects the latest promotional codes for Tracfone and shares only the ones valid for the current month in this list for April 2015. We hope you enjoy the free minutes!

tracfone promo code april 2015
Tracfone Promo Codes April 2015
Tracfone is a prepaid cell phone and service provider throughout America. They offer service through prepaid minute cards that you can purchase in many retail stores and online.

Whenever you add minutes to your Tracfone device, you can also use a promotional code for additional minutes for free! These codes are each meant for certain card amount, or any card of greater value. Also note that these codes won't work on Android smartphones.

So if you are adding a 120 minute prepaid card, use the code for that amount, or you can also use the code for a 60 minute card.

If you would like to see a complete list of codes, including many older codes, visit our main, Tracfone Promo Codes page!

Tracfone recently released another smartphone, the Samsung Galaxy Stardust. You might want to take a look and see how it compares to Tracfone's other smartphone devices like the LG Ultimate 2, and Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop.

Well, let's get to the latest Tracfone codes for April 2015:

Tracfone Promo Codes - April 2015

Remember, these codes may only work once per phone, and they don't work on Android devices.

60 Minute Card use promo code 12745 and get 60 bonus minutes!

120 Minute Card enter 12745 or 79679 for 60 bonus minutes

200 Minute Card add code 12745 or 79679 for 60 bonus minutes, or 85973 and get 40 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card use promo code 12745 or 79679 to receive 60 bonus minutes

400 Minute/1 Year Card enter 19320 or 47125 for 250 extra minutes

We hope you find these promotional codes useful and please let us know in the comments how they are working. We strive to provide only the best, and latest codes for you.

We do lots more than just Tracfone promo codes! Just browse through our blog and learn about lots of various topics like:

What is the Best Tracfone Smartphone?

What is the Difference between GSM and CDMA?

How to Test More than One Promo Code

Thanks for visiting!

March 24, 2015

Samsung Galaxy Stardust S766C for Tracfone

Samsung Galaxy Stardust Specs and Features with Tracfone

We will share the latest news, features and details for the Samsung Galaxy Stardust (S766C) below, and continue to update as we get more information about this new Android Tracfone device.

samsung galaxy stardust
Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Stardust S766c
The Samsung Galaxy Stardust is a smartphone newly available with Tracfone service. (It is also available with Straight Talk) This phone initially appears similar to the LG Optimus Fuel, and especially the Samsung Galaxy Ace Style, but it does share some features with the LG Ultimate 2.

Tracfone now has more than ten Android powered smartphones that can be used on their prepaid service. They continue to release new phones which are for use exclusively on their prepaid service, as well as allow more phones for use on the Tracfone BYOP service. For more details on BYOP, follow the link to our page.

At the end of 2014, Tracfone released three new phones with the best specs and features yet, they were the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop, Moto E, and LG Ultimate 2. These phones each had screens larger than 4", good processors, and other good specifications.

The Galaxy Stardust will run on CDMA towers through Verizon service, which is the same of all of Tracfone's smartphones at this time. For more about CDMA, and if an Android phone will work for you, visit out CDMA vs GSM Comparison.

But how does the Samsung Galaxy Stardust stack up with Tracfone's other offerings? We'll answer this once we review the full list of features and product specifications.

Samsung Galaxy Stardust Features and Specifications

Try not to get the Samsung Galaxy Stardust confused with the Samsung Galaxy Ace Style, they are very similar, but looking at the specs we see some differences:

Samsung Galaxy Stardust Feature List
  • Android 4.3 Jelly Bean
  • 3G Connectivity through Verizon Towers
  • WiFi
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.0
  • Triple Minutes for Life with minutes split into Talk/Text/Data
  • Hands Free Speaker
  • Gravity and Tilt/Shake sensor
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • Up to 64GB MicroSD Card Compatible

Samsung Galaxy Stardust Specifications
  • Size: 4.77" x 2.46" x 0.41"
  • 4" TFT Touchscreen
  • 1.2Ghz Dual Core Processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory
  • Weight: 4.1 OZ
  • 1500 mAh Battery, 12 Hours Talk Time/ 11 Days Standby

The specifications for the Stardust are fairly consistent with the other phones Tracfone has recently released. One very exciting feature is the 8 GB of internal memory, the most we've seen on a phone offered by Tracfone. We will be sure to locate that actual available space, but it looks promising

Now let's see how the Stardust looks compared with some of the other Android phones from Tracfone.

If you want to see a full list of Tracfone smartphones, visit our Android Tracfone List for quick comparisons.

Samsung Galaxy Stardust Compared to Other Tracfone Smartphones

The main differences between the Stardust and Ace Style are the RAM and Internal Memory. The Stardust has twice the amount of RAM and Internal Memory as the Ace Style, which means it can have more apps running at one time, and have more apps loaded on the phone. We still haven't seen the Ace Style released, so maybe Tracfone has just skipped it, and gone straight to the slightly better Samsung Galaxy Stardust.

When comparing the Stardust to the LG Ultimate 2, we see that the Ultimate 2 has a larger screen at 4.5", but a similar processor, RAM, and internal Memory. The Ultimate 2 also has the slightly newer Android 4.4. The LG Ultimate 2 is our current pick for the Best Tracfone Cell Phone, but the Stardust isn't far off, and may be more desirable for some.

Both the Moto E and Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop also have larger screens, at 4.3" and 5.0", but have similar specs on RAM, processor, and camera, and the Stardust even appears to come with more internal memory.

What we can determine from this is that the Samsung Galaxy Stardust isn't going to be the next big phone for Tracfone users, but it does fit in with the current best offerings, and for those who prefer a smaller screen, it might be a great option.

We will continue to share details about the Samsung Galaxy Stardust as it becomes available. At this time the Stardust is available on eBay and QVC:

View the Samsung Galaxy Stardust on eBay for $99

View the Samsung Galaxy Stardust for $109 on QVC with 1200 minutes

We haven't seen the Stardust available on very many other retail sites, or the Tracfone site, but it should be available soon form these sources.

You can view the tutorial for the Samsung Galaxy Stardust S766C to learn more about the phone.

If you have thoughts, questions or your own opinion of this phone, leave a comment below!

You might also find our List of the Best Android Apps useful if you're looking for a smartphone, or already have one.

And don't forget about our simple guide on How to Check your Airtime Balance from a Smartphone.

We strive to provide accurate, useful information for consumers. Thanks for visiting us! Keep up with the latest news and posts by liking our Facebook page!

March 10, 2015

Best Tracfone Cell Phone

Top 5 Tracfone Prepaid Cell Phones 

Everyone wants to know, what is the best Tracfone device? Which cell phones are the best options from Tracfone? We provide for you here the updated list of Best Tracfone Cell Phones for 2015!
best tracfone cell phones 2015
List of the Best Tracfone Cell Phones - photo by arlo_

As you might expect, this list is dominated by the Android powered smartphones Tracfone has released over the last year or two. But which one will receive the top pick? And where in the ranking do the rest of the phones fall? This is almost the best android Tracfone list, but we included some other phones. See the list below!

If you want to see a full listing of all the smartphones, take a look at our comprehensive Android Tracfone List.

We are judging this list of the best cell phones based primarily on features, specifications, and performance as well as feedback from customers. Price and availability will only be small factors, as both of these variables change often.

We will provide a short description of each phone in the list, and a link to our full review if you would like to learn more about a particular phone. This list is written has a helpful guide, that can give you an idea of which phones are generally better than others. However, each phone has certain features which are more important to some people, thus making that phone the best choice, even if it isn't at the top of our list.

We originally created this list of the best Tracfone devices in January, 2014, but have updated in March of 2015.

List of the 8 Best Cell Phones from Tracfone

The list will contain our eight top picks, starting off with number eight:

#8 Best Tracfone - LG 840G

This phone comes in at the eighth spot for its wide popularity, low cost, and good features. The LG 840G has been available for consumers to purchase and use with Tracfone for several years. It offers several great features that help get it onto this list, including Triple Minutes for Life, WiFi, Touchscreen and 3G speeds.

The LG 840G does lack the ability to access Android apps, because the phone uses a proprietary java operating system. You can still use some apps, like Google Maps, but it is not as easy as an Android phone. View our complete review of the LG 840G to learn more about this phone.

The LG 840G is a solid phone with great value for the money. And with prices for this phone as low as $20 on Amazon, it is a great bargain. (you may need to shop around for the lowest price).

The LG 306G is a similar phone, but a little newer, and worth including along with the LG 840G. Learn more about the LG 306G in our Review.

#7 Best Tracfone - LG Optimus Dynamic

android smartphone best phone
LG Optimus Dynamic
The LG Optimus Dynamic arrives on this list of the top Tracfone cell phones as the first Android phone. It is actually pretty similar to the LG 840G (which isn't surprising since they are both made by LG) but with one major exception - Android OS.

With the Android operating system, it is possibly for you to access thousands of different apps (now over a million) through Google Play and use them on this phone.

The LG Optimus Dynamic also comes with WiFi, 3G speeds and a free 4GB Micro SD card. Read our review of the LG Optimus Dynamic to get all the details on this phone.

This phone does have a much older version of Android than any of the other smartphones from Tracfone. It uses Android 2.3 and some have reported it as being a little slower than preferred. The screen size is small compared to modern smartphones.

But the Optimus is the cheapest option between the other Android Tracfone's, at around $20 on Amazon. And there is also a version of the phone offered in white for those who might prefer it.

Unless you really want an Android powered phone, but are very tight on money, we would recommend continuing down the list for better smartphones.

#6 Best Tracfone - Samsung Galaxy Centura

best tracfone
Samsung Galaxy Centura
The Samsung Galaxy Centura comes in at #6. With these  Android phones, they all offer great features and value, but they have small differences that separate them.

The Galaxy Centura offers all the features you expect from an Android Tracfone - WiFi, Triple Minutes for Life, MP3 player, 3 MP camera and more (read our Review of the Samsung Galaxy Centura for all the specs ad features).

But what puts it in 6th place on our list are some of the following issues: First, the Galacy Centura uses Android 4.0 OS, while the ZTE Valet has a slightly newer operating system. Second, the Samsung has a slightly slower processor compared to the ZTE Valet and Huawei Glory.

All of the 'first generation' smartphones for Tracfone (LG Optimus Dynamic, Samsung Galaxy Centura, ZTE Valet and Huawei Glory) are no match for the newer phones further down this list. But they do provide good value for the cost of the phone,

Overall, the Samsung Galaxy Centura is a solid phone, which is why it ranks in our best Android smartphones from Tracfone list. View the Centura on Amazon at $30 less than retail price.

#5 Best Tracfone - ZTE Valet

Top 5 Android Tracfone
ZTE Valet
The ZTE Valet reaches number five on our top Tracfone cell phone list with specs slightly better than the Samsung Galaxy Centura, great features and widespread popularity.

The Valet comes with Android 4.1 OS and all the other features you expect from Tracfone like Triple Minutes for Life, WiFi, and GPS. The Valet also comes with a 4 GB Micro SD card, adding to the value of this phone. You can learn all about the ZTE Valet by reading our review.

What keeps this smartphone from the top spot are the reports we've heard from users that the WiFi can be weak at times, and nowhere near as strong as some would like. This might be a problem with just some phones, but it does keep the Valet from our top spot.

Price-wise, the ZTE Valet is a great buy. We have found it on Amazon for under $20, and many places like eBay, Amazon and HSN sell it with a minutes bundle. The ZTE Valet and Samsung Galaxy Centura are both good phones, and have been the two most popular Android smartphones of the first generation, that Tracfone released.

When comparing the ZTE Valet to phones further down this list, like the Moto E, the Valet is a lesser phone in almost every way. So be aware, it is a good device, but you can get better technology for your money.

#4 Best Tracfone - LG Optimus Dynamic II

The LG Optimus Dynamic II was released a few months after the smartphones listed above, and brought with it a larger screen, and better features and specifications.

It is the successor to the original Optimus Dynamic, and was a very popular choice for Tracfone users until it was later eclipsed by some of the options further along in our list.

With a 3.8" touchscreen, Android 4.1 and many more features that are improvements over previous smartphones, the Dynamic II is a good option even now, for people who don't plan to use demanding apps, or load too much on the phone.

Check out our full Review of the LG Optimus Dynamic II to learn more about this phone.

The Dynamic II is available for around $50 on Amazon, and can sometimes be found for less on various other shopping websites.

Worth mentioning at this point is the LG Optimus Fuel. It has a newer operating system than the Optimus Dynamic II, but a smaller screen size. If you prefer a smaller phone, but want modern smartphone features, read our full Review of the LG Optimus Fuel.

Update! Several more phones have come out, including the LG Optimus Fuel and Samsung Galaxy Stardust. We would rate the Optimus Fuel ahead of the LG Optimus Dynamic II, and the Samsung Galaxy Stardust ahead of the both the Fuel and Dynamic II, and maybe tied or ahead of the Moto E.

#3 Best Tracfone - Moto E

best tracfone device
Tracfone Moto E
The Motorola Moto E is one of three Android smartphones Tracfone released in a '2nd generation' that all have more modern specifications and features, including bigger screens, newer OS, and better processors.

The Moto E has a 4.3" touchscreen, Android 4.4, 5 MP rear camera and all the other usual features like WiFi, GPS, and Triple Minutes for Life. Take a look at our Specs Page for the Moto E for more details and information.

The Moto E is the cheapest of the newer smartphones from Tracfone, and can be found on Amazon for $79 or for a little bit more you can also get a 400 minute card.

The Moto E doesn't have a front facing camera, which is a drawback, but battery performance is excellent, and it will last more than a day with moderate usage when most other phones would be out of juice.

#2 Best Tracfone - Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop

list of best Tracfone
Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop
Coming in at #2 is the Alcatel Onetouch. The biggest feature for this phone is the large, 5" screen which many Tracfone users have craved for quite some time.

But beyond the big screen, the Alcatel also has a quad core processor, 1 GB of RAM, front and rear cameras, and all the other usual features like WiFi, GPS and Triple Minutes.

If you want to learn more about this phone, see our complete specs and features list for the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop.

The Icon Pop is the most expensive Android smartphone at this time, but it provides the largest screen at this time as well. You can find the Alcatel on Amazon for about $120, and sometimes there are great deals bundling it with minutes.

The only downsides to this phone are a somewhat small internal memory of about 2GB, and minor problems with stuttering playback of video.

Now time for our top choice:

#1 Best Tracfone - LG Ultimate 2

Top Tracfone cell phone ultimate 2
LG Ultimate 2
The Ultimate 2 comes with many of the best features and specs of any Tracfone device at this time, leading it to the top of our list of best Tracfone cell phones.

With a 4.5" touchscreen, front and rear cameras. dual core processor and 1 GB of RAM, the Ultimate 2 can keep up with all the most recent apps released for Android. You even get almost 5 GB of internal memory on the Ultimate 2, which is the most for any Tracfone device. This memory is used for storing photos, apps, and much more.

The Alcatel does have a larger screen, but the screen on the Ultimate 2 is more than adequate for most, and the rest of its features make of for the difference. Users report being very satisfied with upgrading from other, first generation smartphones to the Ultimate 2.

While Tracfone will certainly release a newer, and better phone, for now the Ultimate 2 is our top choice. You can learn more about this phone, and the features it has, by reading our Full Review of the LG Ultimate 2.

This phone can be found from many sources online including eBay, Newegg, and Amazon. We have found it for just $99 on Amazon.

For a more detail comparison of some of the top choices, including the LG Ultimate 2 vs Alcatel Onetouch, take a look at our recent post, What is the Best Tracfone?

Honorable Mentions - Moto G, iPhone 4S on BYOP

Many Tracfone users are bringing their own phone (BYOP) to Tracfone to use with the prepaid service, and this includes phones such as the Moto G and iPhone 4S.

Both of these phones have great specs and features, and the Moto G is probably slightly better than the Ultimate 2, but it depends on your preferences. Follow the links above to learn more about using these phones with Tracfone, or visit our main, Tracfone BYOP page for all the details.

We hope you found this article useful, leave a comment with your pick for the best Tracfone device. Also be sure to share this with your friends.

----------
We also want to share that Tracfone continues to add new phones to their lineup, so keep up with the latest by checking our Homepage.

For more on the cell phones offered by Tracfone, visit our Cell Phones Review page.

Also don't forget about our most popular page, the Tracfone Promo Codes!

Thanks for visiting!

March 6, 2015

Tracfone Promo Codes for March 2015

List of Tracfone Promo Codes for March 2015

Every month TracfoneReviewer finds and shares the latest promotional codes from Tracfone here, for you to use and get free minutes! We hope you enjoy the list!

tracfone promo code march 2015
Tracfone Promo Codes for March 2015
Tracfone is a low cost cell phone service provider with a variety of prepaid options. One of the most popular options are prepaid minute cards, ranging from 60 minutes to 450, and even greater values. Consumers can purchase these cards and add them to their phone at any time.

When adding a Tracfone prepaid minute card, you can also use promotional codes to get additional minutes for free. Any promo code will work for a specified card, or any card of greater value. So a code for a 200 minute card will also work on a 450 minute card.

These codes will not work on Android phones from Tracfone, or any BYOP devices. But if you're interested in learning more about these newer, better phones, check out our Android Tracfone List as well as our BYOP page.

The promo codes sometimes only work once per device, and other times can be used multiple times. Expiration is not always known, so please let us know in the comments how the codes worked for you.

And if you're looking for more codes, head over to our main Promo Codes page which contains a complete list of many different codes that you can use.

Now, let's get to the codes!

Tracfone Promo Codes - March 2015

Enter the following codes when you add prepaid minutes from Tracfone to your phone. You can do this either online, on your phone, or over the phone.

60 Minute Card use code 52464 to get 30 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card enter promo code 34514 for 30 extra minutes, or 79679 and get 60 free minutes

200 Minute Card use 79679 to receive 60 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card - no new codes yet, use a code above

1 Year/400 Minute Card enter 29624 and get 250 extra minutes for free

We will updates these codes as we find any new ones, please leave a comment with how the codes worked for you!

We share lots more information about Tracfone, including Cell Phone Reviews on the latest phones, and also a Beginners Guide to Tracfone for those who might just be starting out.

What is the Best Tracfone Device? Well we answered that question too! Go check it out to find our answer.

Thanks for visiting, and we hope these codes helped you get some extra minutes for free!