February 27, 2015

How to Check your Tracfone Airtime Balance on Android Devices

How to Check How Many Minutes you have on Tracfone Android Phones

Tracfone My Account app
On older, non Android phones, airtime and service days was displayed on the home screen and via the prepaid menu for easy monitoring.

But on Android Smartphones, there is no automatic menu or display for your airtime. So how can you check your balance? We will answer that here!

Tracfone is a prepaid cell phone service provider that also sells phones to use with their service. They have a wide variety of phones, from flip phones to touchscreen smartphones. (visit our Cell Phone Reviews page to see the options).

On the Android phones, minutes are not treated the same as on feature phones, they are split into three buckets for texts/talk/data.

It is always important to keep track of your airtime and service days with Tracfone because if you run out of minutes or service days, you can't make any calls. Now with your texts, talk and data split into different buckets for Android phones, it is even more important to keep track of how many of each you have remaining. Take a look at our explanation of How Minutes Work on Android Phones for more information.

Well there is an easy way to track your Tracfone minutes on the Android phones:

Tracfone Airtime App for Checking your Balance

check airtime on tracfone android
Tracfone Airtime Widget on Android
The Tracfone App (follow the link to it on Google Play) is a helpful app you can download on your Android phone and use to check your balance.

Once you download the app you can enter your details and keep up with your remaining minutes.

You can even add a widget to your home-screen that will display your airtime, much like on older feature phones!

If you don't have the space for this app on your phone, or want to check your balance online, there are two more methods you can use.

You can always go to the Tracfone website, whether from your phone or on a computer, and log in and view your account details. From there check your airtime balance and it should show your remaining minutes, and/or send you a free text with this information.

Additionally, you can enter the following URL to check your balance: "https://www.tracfone.com/direct/CheckBalance?input_phone=1234567890" (replace 1234567890 with your phone number). You will get a text with your balance.

Tracking your airtime is important, so that you don't run out at an inconvenient time when you really need the phone. You can make your life a little easier by looking into the Tracfone Family Value Plan.

With this plan, you pay $10 a month for the first phone, and $6 for each additional phone to receive 50 and 40 minutes plus 30 service days, each month. Follow the link above to view our full post on it, and learn how to enroll.

If you're shopping for a smartphone, be sure to check out our Android Tracfone List, which includes all the current smartphones available from Tracfone. And see our post on the Major Differences between Android and Non-Android phones from Tracfone.

You can also Bring Your Own Phone to Tracfone, including devices like the Moto G and iPhone 4S.

Thanks for visiting and leave a comment if you still have any questions.

February 23, 2015

How Many Minutes Does Texting Cost for TracFone?

How Much Does Texting Cost for Tracfone?

This is a relatively common question many people have when looking at buying a Tracfone cell phone.

Cell Phone Closeup By seanmcmenemy
Tracfone is a prepaid, no-contract cell phone service provider. They have low cost minute cards, and many cell phones for under $100 (and even under $20). With Tracfone service, you pay for how much you use the phone, and you have to buy prepaid minutes to put on the phone before you can use it.

Texting with Tracfone is very reasonable, and we are going to share exactly how it works, and how much it will cost you.

Before we get to the cost, we must explain that texting charges are different for Tracfone's newer, Android powered smartphones. These smartphones put minutes into three separate 'pools' of calling/texting/data.

Read our guide, How Minutes Work on Tracfone Smartphones to get the full explanation. We will share below how much texting will cost on the smartphones as well as regular Tracfone devices.

Now, let's first explain the cost for texting with Non-Android phones:

Texting, or SMS, costs 0.3 units (or minutes) for each text (sent or received) on non-Android phones

Sending an MMS costs 0.5 unites, and pictures cost 1 unit on non-Android phones.

Sometimes pictures can cost more, especially if they are larger images. And remember that you get deducted for every text you send or receive.

What about Android phones? How much does texting cost on a Tracfone smartphone?

This is a very straightforward answer, because texts are already separated from calling and data on the smartphones.

Texting on a Smartphone costs 1 text (sent or received)

Sending a photo deducts from your data based on the size of the photo

So with a smartphone, each text deducts one text from your 'text pool'. At this time, here is no way to just buy texts, so if you run out you will have to buy another prepaid minute card.

Some users have experienced problems sending photos on smartphones. This may be due to these users leaving their data turned off (which is usually a good idea, because it keeps apps from using data). Data is used when sending pictures.

If you have more questions about the smartphones from Tracfone, check out our Android vs non-Android comparison, that covers many of the differences.

Texting with Tracfone is very reasonable, although if you send thousands of texts per month, you may want to look for an unlimited plan.

There are also some other costs that you should be familiar with when using Tracfone:

Surfing the web browser costs 0.4 units per minute on older, non-Android phones

On newer Tracfone Cell phones, such as the LG 840G or any Android Smartphones, using the web browser costs differently based more on the amount of data used, instead of time online. Additionally, the LG 840G and all the Android phones have WiFi connectivity, which is free to use on the phone when you are connected to a WiFi network.

Using Tracfone prepaid cell phones is great for those who want an emergency phone, don't use their phone too often, or just need a phone in a hurry. And with many of the newer Android powered smartphones, they have become even more economical for daily use.

To learn more, read our Overview of Tracfone or visit our Cell Phone Reviews page. We also created a Beginners Guide to Tracfone, to answer many of the comment questions consumers have.

We hope this has been helpful! Leave a comment if you have questions, and thanks for visiting!

Keep up with the latest from our blog by following us on Facebook!

(This post was originally published 1/9/2013, but was updated and republished 2/23/2015 with more accurate information)

February 12, 2015

Tracfone Deals, Discounts and Sales for February 2015

Best Sales and Deals on Tracfone Devices

Great deals on Tracfone Cell Phones and Minutes collected from around the web. We monitor the prices for many different Tracfone Devices and share our top finds here. We hope you enjoy!

sales on tracfone
List of Tracfone Sales and Deals
These are some top discounts on Tracfone items from a variety of sources. While Tracfone does sell phones directly through their website, the phones can often be found for less through other retailers.

But there is a real challenging trying to keep up with which phones are a good deal, and what you should pass on. So we are here to help with our list of 5 of the latest deals on Tracfone devices for February 2015.

Read through this list below and see if any of the deals are just too good to pass up.

If you're still learning about Tracfone, jump over to our Beginners Guide to Tracfone which will share a lot of the basics on how Tracfone works, and the different phone options available.

For those who are shopping for a new phone, narrow your search by reading up on the reviews at our Cell Phone Reviews page. Or if you know you want an Android, then see each phone compared side by side on our Android Tracfone List.

These deals are the best we've found, but if you see something better, let us know in the comments so we can add it!

Top 5 Latest Deals and Discounts on Tracfone

1. Tracfone Moto E with 1200 Minutes for $99
The Moto E comes with Android 4.4 and is one of the better smartphones currently available with Tracfone. It has a 4.3" touchscreen, dual-core processor, and great battery life. It doesn't have a front facing camera, but does have a 5mp rear camera. View the full specs on our Moto E page.

With this deal you get the phone, plus a 400 minute/ 1 year of service card. The card itself usually retails for $100, making the phone basically free. The Moto E often retails for around $90.

2. LG 306G or 305C for $10
list of tracfone deals
LG 306G on Amazon
The LG 306G and 305C are feature phones with 3.5" touchscreens. They run a java based operating system which allows the use of some apps, but doesn't use a standard operating system like Android.

They have a single 'pool' for minutes, unlike the separated talk/text/data on Android phones. You also get Triple Minutes for Life. The LG 306G is for use with GSM networks, while the 305C is for CDMA. Basically if you currently use a phone with 'G' at the end, go with the 306G, and if you use a phone with 'C' then use the 305C.

Learn more about these phones by reading our LG 306G review and LG 305C review.

At only $10 these phones are great for those who aren't interested in the added functionality of an Android smartphone, or as a first phone.

3. LG 306G with 600 Minutes for $35
If you are looking at buying the LG 306G, and you could use some additional minutes, this is a great deal. The 200 minute card you get with this bundle is usually $40 in stores, but you get it for just $35 (plus shipping). You also get the LG 306G for free.

4. LG Ultimate 2 with 1200 Minutes for $129
We recently picked the LG Ultimate 2 as the best Tracfone device currently available (read the post, What is the Best Tracfone Device? to see why). It comes with a 4.5" touchscreen, Android 4.4 and over 4GB of internal memory. Plus you get both a front and rear facing camera, and plenty of other features.

Read more about this phone on our LG Ultimate 2 Review.

This phone typically retails for $100 or more, but this deal gives you a 400 minute card, worth $100, plus the phone for an extra $30.

If you can use the minutes, and like this phone, then this is a great deal for you.

5. 200 Minutes for $32 and $15 off 400 Minute/1 Year
Tracfone minutes sale
Tracfone 200 Minute Card
Minute cards, which are used to add extra airtime to your phone, as well as extend the service days, don't often go on sale. But these two deals provide a nice little discount on the normal price.

The 200 minute card usually retails for $40 in stores and on the Tracfone website. But you can get it for a little less through this sale.

The 400 Minute/1 Year of service card goes for $100 in stores and online, but if you enter promo code 84299 on the Tracfone website at checkout, you get $15 off.

If you're looking for more information on Tracfone Minutes, take a look at our Guide to How Minutes Work with Android Phones and also check out the About Tracfone page.

We recently compiled a list of the Best Apps to use with Android Smartphones. Browse through the list and see the top picks. Best of all, most apps are free!

Don't forget about the Tracfone BYOP program, which allows you to bring your own phone to use with Tracfone. Many users have been reporting great success with this program, including using phones like the Moto G with Tracfone.

Thanks for visiting, and be sure to pass the deals along to your friends and family. Leave a comment if you find more great deals!

February 3, 2015

Tracfone Promo Codes for February 2015

List of Tracfone Promo Codes February 2015

Each month TracfoneReviewer collects and provides here a list of the latest promotional codes from Tracfone for you to use and get extra minutes for free!

tracfone promo code
Tracfone Promo Codes February 2015
Tracfone is a prepaid wireless cell phone service provider that offers low cost, no-contract options for you to own a cell phone.

When adding the prepaid minutes to your phone, sometimes you can also use a promotional code and receive extra minutes for free. Prepaid phone cards come in several different amounts, and certain codes go with each card, or any card of greater value.

Tracfone also provides a variety of phones, including Android smartphones. Take a look at our Android Phone List for all the options, but remember that promo codes won't work with Android phones.

We  recently chose our pick for the Best Tracfone Device. What do you think we picked? Take a look to find out.

If you're looking for more details on how Tracfone prepaid service works, or how the promotional codes are added, read our Beginners Guide to Tracfone. You'll find plenty of information to get you started.

Now, let's get to the codes. We have collected these from various sources with user feedback to help ensure they are the latest, and valid through February 2015. We strive to provide the best codes, and leave a comment with how the code worked for you.

Tracfone Promo Codes - February 2015

Use the following codes for an extra 20-300 minutes added to your phone when are adding prepaid minutes. Each code works for a specific minute card amount, or cards of greater value.

tracfone promo codes
Tracfone Minutes
60 Minute Card use 52464 and get 30 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card use promo code 78380 for 30 bonus minutes

200 Minute Card enter 89041 to receive 40 extra minutes

450 Minute Card use code 24028 and get 50 more minutes for free

1 Year/400 Minute Card add code 67988 for 300 bonus minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card use 84299 to get $15 off the purchase price, but only available online at the Tracfone website.

These are the codes for February 2015. If you can't find a code that is working, or want more options, go to our main Tracfone Promo Codes page for the complete list.

We hope you found these codes useful, and were able to get some extra minutes for free! Let us know which codes worked for you in the comments below.

If you're in the market for a new phone, don't miss out on the information available on the Tracfone BYOP page. We share a lot of details about bringing your own phone to Tracfone, including a list of compatible phones.

Don't forget to protect your device. We have compiled a resource for finding Smartphone Cases and Covers for many of Tracfone's popular devices.

Finally, if you do have a smartphone and are feeling depressed that the promo codes won't work for your phone, head over to our List of the Best Apps for Android and get cheered up by all the things you can do with your smartphone!

Thanks for visiting!

January 29, 2015

UNIMAX MaxPatriot Tracfone Review

Review of the Unimax MaxPatriot Android Phone from Tracfone

This review will provide specs and features for the Tracfone UNIMAX 671c MaxPatriot, as well as a comparison to other phones available, and is provided by TracfoneReviewer.

tracfone unimax review
UNIMAX MaxPatriot with Tracfone
The UNIMAX MaxPatriot is an Android powered smartphone offered by Tracfone Wireless for use on their prepaid cell phone network. Tracfone offers a variety of phones and prepaid service options, which you can learn more about by reading our Beginners Guide to Tracfone.

Tracfone continues to release smartphones running the Android Operating System. These phones provide more features and functionality, with the ability to download and use applications on them.

Not a lot of information is available about the UNIMAX company, or sometimes UMX Mobile. They appear to be based in China, and are expanding into the Android mobile phone market quickly. Quality may not be quite on par with more established brands like Samsung, LG and Motorola.

The UNIMAX MaxPatriot comes with a 4" screen, Android 4.1, and a 5 MP camera. You also get Triple Minutes for Life, which all Android phones from Tracfone come with.

There are several other options for smartphones with Tracfone, including the Tracfone BYOP program, where you can bring certain phones to use with Tracfone. Also take a look at our Tracfone Android List for a complete of the smartphones available through Tracfone.

Some of the current top phones from Tracfone are the LG Ultiamte 2, Moto E, and Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop. We will briefly compare these with the MaxPatriot a little further on.

Let's jump into the features and specs on the UNIMAX phone.

UNIMAX MaxPatriot Features
  • Android 4.1.2
  • 3G on Verizon Networks
  • WiFi
  • 5 MP Rear Camera
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth
  • MP3 Player
  • Micro SD Card compatible up to 64GB
  • Triple Minutes for Life
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • Voicemail, SMS, MMS and Voice dialing

UNIMAX MaxPatriot Specs and Technical Details
  • Size: 4.80" x 2.46" x 0.41"
  • 4" Touchscreen
  • 1.2 Dual Core processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 1.5 GB Internal Memory, about 1 GB Usable
  • Weight: 4.6 ounces
  • Battery: Talk Time 7 Hours, Standby 8 Days
The features are fairly straight forward and similar to many of Tracfone's other Android devices. The UNIMAX has WiFi, Triple Minutes for life, Micro SD card slot, GPS, and more.

The technical specs are where we get a little disappointed.

The MaxPatriot comes with a 4" touchscreen, which larger than some other Tracfone devices, but smaller than some as well. The Dual Core processor sounds good, but the internal memory is very disappointing, with only about 1 GB actually usable. Some apps can be loaded on an external SD card, but we would still like to see closer to 8 GB.

The LG Ultimate 2, for example, has more than 4 GB internal memory.

Before we get ahead of ourselves, let's go over some of our likes and dislikes about the UNIMAX, and then we will compare it with some other phones.

UNIMAX MaxPatriot Review - Likes and Dislikes

What we like about the MaxPatriot
tracfone unimax maxpatriot
UNIMAX MaxPatriot with Maps
The UNIMAX 671c has many of the standard features of an Android smartphone with Tracfone service.

We like that it comes with the Android OS, which allows users access to over a million apps. These apps have huge potential, and give the phone many added benefits and features.

Take a look at our List of the Best Apps for Tracfone Android for some ideas.

While it is great that the MaxPatriot has Android, it isn't the latest version.

The screen size is another good point for the phone. At 4", it is mid-sized in the Tracfone lineup, which will be exactly what some users are looking for. Not everyone wants a large phone, although it is nice sometimes. The LG Optimus Fuel, for example, has a smaller, 3.5" screen while the Alcatel Onetouch Has a much larger screen, at 5".

We do think that the price, listed at $70, is more or less reasonable. And it is likely to be available for much less online, which makes this a very affordable phone.

Let's move on to our dislikes for this phone, of which there are a few.

What we Dislike about the UNIMAX MaxPatriot
We do have a handful of grips against the MaxPatriot, partially because it is an older phone, and there are much more advanced phones currently available with Tracfone.

The rear camera on the UNIMAX has 5 MP, which is good. But it doesn't have a front facing camera, which we find disappointing.

Internal Memory is probably one of our biggest disappointments with the UNIMAX MaxPatriot. At only 1.5 GB total internal space, and less than 1 GB actually usable, we're not sure how useful this phone will actually be for most people. Unless you can move a large number of apps to the external SD card, you will be limited in your options.

Battery life seems poor on the UNIMAX, with 7 hours talk time listed, but often even less actually achieved. The Moto E, which has great battery performance, has more than double the talk time of the MaxPatriot, at 16.5 hours. If you can stay close to a charger, then it isn't a worry, but otherwise you may look elsewhere.

Finally, we've noticed a number of consumers echoing dissatisfaction with the overall quality and design of the phone. For some users, it works great, but others report various bugs, or a completely dead phone after just a few months.

The UNIMAX MaxPatriot has some decent features, but it doesn't seem to be a phone that will be too popular.

Using Android Phones with Tracfone

We want to highlight some important points about using an Android phone with Tracfone, that you might not be aware of.

First, All Android phones with Tracfone currently use Verizon CDMA cell towers. Tracfone has some sort of contract with Verizon. This means that if Verizon service isn't available in your area, then you can't use a Tracfone smartphone there either.

All Tracfone Android devices come with Triple Minutes for Life, and minutes are split into three pools: calling, texting, and data.

For more differences and information, read our post on the 6 Major Differences Between Android and Non-Android phones.

And if you just want to learn about how minutes work, take a look at How Tracfone Minutes Work on Android Phones.

UNIMAX MaxPatriot Comparison to Other Androids

We will quickly compare the UNIMAX to some of the other popular smartphones available with Tracfone.

Basically, the Moto E, Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop, and LG Ultimate 2 are all better than the UNIMAX MaxPatriot. They all have larger screens, similar or better processors, more internal memory, similar or better cameras (and front facing), newer Android OS, longer battery life, and more, compared to the UNIMAX.

The only area where the MaxPatriot has an edge that we can find, is in it's lower initial retail price.

But if you compare the UNIMAX to the LG Optimus Fuel, which can be found for $20, we would go with the Optimus Fuel for the lower cost, and newer Android OS.

If you want to know our top choice in Tracfone devices, take a look at TracfoneReviewer's Best Tracfone Device.

Conclusion and Where to Find the UNIMAX MaxPatriot

As you can probably tell, we don't find the UNIMAX to be a very inspirational phone, and there are other options which will be a much better choice for most consumers. However, it is probably better than some of Tracfone's first Android devices, like the ZTE Valet, and LG Optimus Dynamic.

The MaxPatriot is available on the Tracfone website, and in some stores. We haven't found it on other online retailers yet.

Take a look at the interactive tutorial to learn more about how this phone works.

We hope this information is accurate and useful. Leave a comment below with your thoughts or questions about this phone.

Also take a look at some great Sales and Discounts on Tracfone Devices.

And don't forget about Smartphone Covers and Cases, which can go a long way in protecting your phone!

Thanks for visiting!