May 20, 2015

LG Lucky L16C Tracfone Android Review

LG Lucky Review, Specs and Details - Android Tracfone

This post shares the latest information on the LG L16C Lucky and includes our review and comparison to other available devices. We hope this information is helpful, and will continue to update as more details become available.

lg lucky review tracfone
LG Lucky Review
Another new Android device is available for use with Tracfone, and it is the LG Lucky, also known as L16C. This is an android powered device that is for use with Tracfone prepaid service.

Tracfone sells both prepaid cell phone service, and cell phones to use with their service at fairly low prices. The phones available through Tracfone are not the latest options, but have enough features to satisfy most users. For those who demand a lot from their device, consider learning about Tracfone 4G LTE service which allows you to use top of the line Android and Apple devices.

The LG Lucky is the latest in a growing selection of smartphones that Tracfone continues to deliver since their first meager offering back in 2013 (do you remember the LG Optimus Dynamic?). You can see for yourself on our Android Tracfone List.

Phones have slowly improved over time, with several devices sporting 4" or greater screens, better processors, and more memory. The LG Lucky, while not at the top end of available phones, is a solid contender and compares similarly to the Samsung Galaxy Stardust and LG Optimus Fuel. The LG Ultimate 2 would be a good choice for those looking for a larger screen.

We can see straight away that the Lucky has a smaller, 3.8" screen. For most people, this is a big drawback. But some consumers would prefer a smaller device. Some of the other notable features include a 1.2 Ghz dual core processor, and Android 4.4.

Let's get into the full list of specs and features on the LG Lucky.

LG Lucky Specs and Features List

These are the current features available on the LG L16C Lucky smartphone.
  • Android 4.4 KitKat
  • 3G Connectivity on Verizon Towers
  • WiFi
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.0
  • Triple Minutes for Life Split into Text/Talk/Data
  • Hands Free Speaker
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • Access to Over a Million Applications through Google Play
  • Up to 32 GB SD Card Compatible, comes with 4 GB SD Card
LG L16C Lucky Specs
  • Size: 4.43" x 2.50" x 0.49"
  • 3.8" Touchscreen
  • 1.2 Ghz Dual Core Processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • Internal Memory - Unconfirmed
  • Weight: 4.2 ounces
  • Battery: 7 Hours Talk Time, 10 Days Standby
There are a couple of features that stand out on this device, such as the processor and RAM. We also like that it has Android 4.4.

Let's get into our review of the LG Lucky to give a better idea of how the device compares to other phones.

LG Lucky L16C Review - Likes and Dislikes for the Phone

Straight away we find that the Android 4.4 KitKat is a great OS to use. It is compatible with an extremely wide variety of apps through Google Play that give the LG Lucky many additional uses. You can take a look at our List of the Best Android Apps for some ideas.

The LG L16C also has a 1.2 Ghz dual core processor, and 1 GB of RAM. Both of these are better than Tracfone's original Android offerings like the ZTE Valet, which means the Lucky will be faster, and able to have more apps running at one time. However, modern smartphones are now running with at least 2 GB RAM, and often quad core processors. If you're planning on being a heavy user, especially with games, you may want to look for a more robust device.

While the size, at 3.8", might turn some people away, we find this is a convenient size for those who don't want to do much on their phone beyond talking and occasionally texting or checking email. If you do plan to do more than that, a 4" screen or larger is just much more convenient.

We have not confirmed how much internal memory is available, but you can use up to a 32 GB external SD card with this phone, and it even comes with a 4GB card which is great for loading some music or videos on.

The battery life on the LG Lucky isn't as great as some devices, especially the Moto E, which has a very nice battery life.

The LG Lucky will use Verizon towers through Tracfone's prepaid service, so be sure to check what the service will be like in your area before buying the phone. Android phones split minutes into three separate pools of Talk, Text and Data.

The camera on the Lucky isn't very impressive, and it doesn't appear to have a front facing camera either.

Overall, the LG L16C is a versatile, average performing Android device that might be right for certain people. Starting at just $60, it is a lot easier on the budget, but you might be better off with an LG Optimus Fuel which shares many similarities, but can be found on Amazon for $30.

How the LG Lucky Compares to Other Android Phones

tracfone lg l16c lucky
Access Google Maps on the LG Lucky
The LG Lucky is very similar to several other Tracfone devices including the LG Optimus Fuel, and Samsung Galaxy Stardust. Indeed, these phones share many of the same features with only slight variations such as screen size or memory.

The LG Ultimate 2 is a little ahead of the LG Lucky in performance and screen size, plus the Ultimate 2 has a nice amount of Internal Memory.

The Lucky is recommended over the ZTE Valet, LG Optimus Dynamic, Samsung Galaxy Centura and Unimax Max Patriot phones. These phones are all a bit too old to be very useful anymore.

We are excited to share that it appears that Tracfone may also releasing several more phones, including the devices for use on GSM networks. These devices are the LG L15G (same as the LG Lucky, but for GSM) LG L22C and LG L21G. The LG 22C and 21G are the same, but for CDMA and GSM respectively and will feature Android 5.0. No word on when these will be released, but we will keep you updated!

Read up on our GSM vs CDMA comparison if you aren't quite sure what this all means.

For a full list of phones, check out our Cell Phone Reviews page.

Where to Buy the LG Lucky and Covers/Cases

We have currently only found the LG Lucky on the Tracfone website. Head over there and then shop their phone selection to see the device. Tracfone may go out of stock, in which case they remove the listing.

We will update when the Lucky is available through other retailers.

You can find plenty of cases and covers for the LG Lucky on retailers such as Amazon and eBay. Here are the LG Lucky Cases we've found on Amazon.

You can also take a look at the interactive tutorial for the LG Lucky.

The LG Lucky is another stop in Tracone's slow progression of Android devices, and it offers some nice features, but we hope Tracfone continues to bring us more modern smartphones.

Thanks for visiting and we hope you found this information useful.

Follow all the latest info and join over a 1000 other fans on our Facebook page where we share the latest news, blog posts, deals and other stories.

You might also want to check out our Tracfone BYOP page which contains the latest information on brining your own phone to use with Tracfone.

If you have questions or thoughts, be sure to leave a comment below, and also check for information posted by other readers!

May 12, 2015

Tracfone Deals and Sales in May 2015

Top Sales, Discounts and Deals for Tracfone Devices and Minutes

Collected below are some of the best discounts we've found from around the web for Tracfone devices and minutes. We hope you save some money!

tracfone discounts
May Deals, Discounts and Sale Listing
There are many different places to buy Tracfone devices and minutes, including online, in stores, and even directly from Tracfone. And Tracfone items can often be found at lower prices in some places.

With all these different sources, it can be hard to know which offers the best deal. How can you know if you should buy a phone you like from a certain source? Well we are here to help share some of the greatest deals collected form the internet and listed below.

These are some of the best prices or package deals we've seen, and are happy to pass along these savings to you. We ask that if you know any other great deals, that you share them in the comments as well!

Many of these deals are for the newer, Android powered smartphones that Tracfone has been selling more and more of. These phones have powerful features and can do many things. But they are not all equal, and you should understand the differences.

For a quick comparison, visit our Android Tracfone List, which has each phone and some basic stats for it.

You should also look at our post on the Best Tracfone Device if you want to know our top choices.

Tracfone has also recently started allowing 4G LTE Devices on their network, creating the potential for many top of the line devices to be used with their inexpensive prepaid service. Follow the link to get the full story.

Well, let's jump into these discounts that we've tracked down to share with you!

5 Great Deals and Discounts on Tracfone

Beginning with some minutes to get you through the year!

Save $15 on a 1 Year/400 Minute Card - Tracfone Website
tracfone minute sales and discount
1 Year/400 Minute Tracfone Card Discount
To start this off, Tracfone is offering $15 off their 1 Year/ 400 Minute Card. This brings the price down to $85 (although you may have to pay some significant taxes). This is a pretty good price, as minutes are rarely discounted very much. Plus, if you are using a non-Android device, you can get 250 bonus minutes from our Tracfone Promo Codes.

The code for $15 off is 99138 and you enter this at checkout on the Tracfone website.

However, you can also find similar prices for the 1 Year card on eBay from a variety of sources. Many of these sellers will mail you the PIN, but some will actually email you the PIN so you can input it faster.

We haven't tried all of these sellers, so we can't verify every one, but many users have found that buying through online retailers like Amazon and eBay is a good way to save some money. Do a little of your own research, and hopefully save some money on minutes!

View the 1 Year/400 Minute Card on eBay

Moto X 32GB Developers Edition
With Tracfone adding 4G LTE service to their BYOP program, it opens the door to some really impressive phones, but also some fantastic deals like this Moto X 32GB Android.

This phone comes with a nice 4.7" display, 2 GB of RAM, a 10 MP camera, and 32 GB of storage space. There is also a newer version of this phone, but it is a bit more expensive. At a little under $250, this is a great value, especially if you're in need of a lot of internal memory.

View the Moto X on eBay

tracfone discount sale
LG G2 on Amazon
LG G2 with 5.2" Screen, 32 GB Memory
The LG G2 is another device that could be used with Tracfone 4G LTE BYOP. This phone might be even more impressive than the Moto X, because it features a 5.2" screen, 2 GB RAM, quad core processor, and 32 GB of internal memory. Several refurbished versions can be found on eBay for about $150, with a new LG G2 phone at closer to $300 (still not a bad deal for the specs).

See the refurbished LG G2 on eBay

Tracfone LG Ultimate 2 with Minutes
The LG Ultimate 2 continues to be one of the best phones available from Tracfone to use with their prepaid service. It has a 4.5" screen, dual core processor and about 4GB of usable internal memory. You can see our complete analysis by visiting our LG Ultimate 2 Review.

This deal features the LG Ultimate 2 plus a 1 Year/400 Minute card (worth $100) for just $129.

See it for yourself on Amazon

Tracfone Moto E free with 1 Year/400 Minute card
The Moto E is another popular android device, and comes with a 4.3" screen, great battery life but no front facing camera. Learn more by reading our full post on the Moto E

This deal includes a 1 Year/400 Minute card (worth $100) and is only $99, making the phone actually free. The phone runs Android 4.4, and is a great device at a great price.

View the Moto E Bundle on eBay

Well that covers some of the latest deals and discounts we have found. If you find something good, share in the comments below!

Do you run out of Text Messages quickly? Well Tracfone Recently Added a Text Card to their prepaid options. Find out how much it costs, and if it is really a good deal in our blog post.

Thanks for visiting! And don't forget we're on Facebook too!

May 4, 2015

Tracfone Promo Codes for May 2015

List of Tracfone Promo Codes - May 2015

Every month TracfoneReviewer collects the latest promotional codes for Tracfone and shares them here on the blog. We put only the codes that are working for May 2015 here for your convenience. We hope you enjoy the free minutes!

TracfoneReviewer's list of Promo Codes may 2015
Updated Tracfone Codes for May 2015
Tracfone Wireless is a company that offers both prepaid cell phone service, and cell phones to use with their networks. You can purchase a phone and prepaid card with airtime for under $40 total, making them a very reasonable choice if you need cell service.

When adding an airtime card to your phone, you can also enter a promotional code to get additional minutes for free! These codes are provided by Tracfone, and we share the latest with you here.

View our full list of codes, which includes these and many more, on our main Tracfone Promo Code page.

To get the free minutes, all you have to do is include the 5 digit code at the appropriate place when typing in the airtime pin. There are places for the code both if you're entering it online, or on your phone. You can call Tracfone as well.

These free minute codes won't work on Android smartphones, such as the LG Ultimate 2. These phones provide great value in other ways, because of their extra features. Take a look at all of Tracfone's smartphones on our Android Tracfone List.

And Tracfone also recently made it possible to bring your own 4G LTE capable device to use with their inexpensive service. Learn more by visiting our BYOP page.

Now, let's get to the promo codes for May!

Tracfone Promo Codes - May 2015

Use these codes when adding minutes to your Tracfone device. Codes are used for a specific card amount, or any higher value (for example, a code for the 60 minute card will also work for the 120, 200, 450 minute cards etc.).

60 Minute Card use code 12745 for 60 extra minutes

120 Minute Card apply promo code 42853 and get 30 bonus minutes

200 Minute Card use 71391 to receive 40 extra minutes

450 Minute Card enter promo code 53288 for 50 free minutes

1 Year/400 Minute Card use code 79213 or 36212 to get 250 minutes for free!

Bonus - $15 off the purchase of a 1 Year/400 Minute card with code 99138 (online only)

Thanks for visiting, and we hope these codes work for you! We share them here and keep it simple with no extra clicking required to see the code for your convenience! Share in the comments below which code you used, and how it worked.

We also provide lots of other information about Tracfone, including Cell Phone Reviews for many of their phones.

Tracfone also recently added a Text Airtime Card to their prepaid options. Learn all about Adding Extra Texts to your Tracfone device on our blog post. Texts can only be added to smartphones.

Keep up with the latest news we share by following us on Facebook with a helpful and growing community.

April 27, 2015

How to Buy Only Texts for your Tracfone Smartphone

Add More Text Messages to Your Tracfone Device

get more texts for tracfone
Get Extra Texts with a Text Airtime Card
For many of us, texting is our biggest drain of minutes on our Tracfone smartphone. And up until now, the only way to add more texts was by getting a card for more calling and data as well.

With Tracfone, you buy phones and prepaid minutes to allow you to make calls, send texts and surf the web on data. Tracfone sells a variety of prepaid cards, and each card adds more texts, data and calling minutes at the same time. However, with Android powered devices, your texts, data and calling minutes are split up, so you can run out of data or texts and have to buy more calling minutes to refill your data and texts, even if you don't want any more calling minutes.

But Tracfone has just added a new prepaid card you can purchase to add additional text messages to your phone. (check it out here)

Now you can buy extra cards for data, or texts without spending more on calling minutes.

This is great news, especially as Tracfone offers more and more smartphones, including through their 4G LTE BYOP program. And remember that these data and text specific cards only work with smartphones.

Let's explain how each of these cards work, and how much it costs.

Buy Only Data or Text Messages for your Tracfone Smartphone

There are three kinds of prepaid cards you can buy from Tracfone to use with your smartphone:

Airtime Cards - available for all phones
Data Cards - only available with smartphones
Text Cards - only available with smartphones

Airtime cards provide you with a certain number of minutes, as well as service days. Here is the list of card amounts and service days. Remember, all smartphones also receive Triple Minutes, which triples each of these cards when you add them to your phone.
  • 60 Minute Card comes with 90 service days (with a smartphone, split into 60 calling minutes, 60 texts, and 60 mb of data) - $20
  • 120 Minute Card come with 90 service days - $30
  • 200 Minute Card comes with 90 service days - $40
  • 450 Minute Card comes with 90 service days - $80
  • 400 Minute Card comes with 365 service days - $100
  • 1000 Minute Card comes with 365 service days - $160 (online only)
  • 1500 Minute Card comes with 365 service days - $200 (online only)
Data Cards will give you additional data, but nothing else, no additional service days are added. We would recommend trying to use your home or work WiFi that is free, rather than using data unless you need it. Here are the data cards available.
  • 300 MB - $10
  • 750 MB - $20
  • 2 GB - $50
And finally, Text Cards can be added to give additional text messages to your smartphone. Again, no additional service days are added. There is currently only one option for adding more texts to your phone.
  • 1000 texts - $10
At first glance, 1000 texts for $10 looks like a good deal, but is it? Let's break it down.

Comparing the Cost Per Text for Airtime and Text Cards

texts for tracfone android
Tracfone Airtime Card
Is it cheaper to buy an Airtime card or a Text card to refill your Texts?

If you buy the 60 Minute Airtime card, you will get 60 texts, which is automatically tripled to 180 on all smartphones (you also get 180 calling minutes, and 180 mb of data, plus 90 days of service) for $20. This works out to just over 11 cents per text - not great.

But if you got the 450 Minute Airtime card you will get 450 texts, tripled to 1350 for $80. This comes to about 6 cents per text, which is better, but not great.

What if you went for the 1500 Minute Airtime card which gives 1500 texts, tripled to 4500 for $200. You would be paying 4.4 cents per text.

And what does the 1000 texts for $10 come to per text? 1 cent per text. Let's put all the number together:

60 Minute Card = 11 Cents per Text
450 Minute Card = 6 Cents per Text
1500 Minute Card = 4.4 Cents per Text
1000 Texts Card = 1 Cent per Text

As you can clearly see, if you only need text messages for your phone, the special text card is the best deal. But if you need additional calling, data or service days, the 1500 Minute Card is the next best deal.

So what should you do if you need just a few calling and data minutes, plus service days, but go through texts quickly? Try this setup:

Join the Tracfone Family Value Plan which is $10 for the first user, and $6 for each user after that. You get 50 minutes, plus 30 service days each month, and additional users get 40 minutes.

So you would have 150 Calling minutes, 150 mb of data, and 150 texts for $10 per month. Then you can buy the text refill card, which would give you 1000 texts for just $10. You would have a total of 1150 texts per month, for just $20. And other users could do the same.

This is a great option for families with teenagers who will mostly use text messages.

We hope this analysis is help for you if you're comparing airtime cards. Drop us a comment below if you have questions, or additional insight to share.

Be sure to take a look at our Tracfone BYOP page, which now includes 4G LTE devices like the iPhone 6, that you can use with Tracfone.

You may also be interested in our Android Tracfone List which shares a summary of each of the smartphones available from Tracfone.

And don't forget about our Tracfone Promo Code page, even though you can't use them with Android phones, you can still use them for all the other devices.

Thanks for visiting!

April 22, 2015

4G LTE with Tracfone BYOP

Use 4G LTE Smartphones with Tracfone BYOP program

This post details the latest on Tracfone BYOP and 4G LTE. We will continue to update it, as well as our main Tracfone BYOP page which also contains a list of compatible phones. 

tracfone 4g
Tracfone BYOP 4G LTE 
We are excited to share the news that Tracfone has now opened their BYOP program to 4G Smartphones! Previously, only Verizon compatible 3G phones were capable of being used with Tracfone BYOP (Bring Your Own Phone). This meant the best phones you could get were the iPhone 4s, Moto G, and other similar types. While these smartphones are great, they are not top of the line.

With 4G LTE now available with Tracfone, you can use the iPhone 6, or a Samsung Galaxy S6, or many other high-end devices and get the fastest data speeds. The only requirement is that it must be able to connect with Verizon 4G service to activate.

We will dive into more details on activating your phone and what kind of requirements there are after we cover the basics of how the Tracfone BYOP program works.

How Tracfone BYOP 4G LTE Works

Using a 4G LTE device with Tracfone BYOP works similarly to bringing a 3G device to Tracfone. You will need to have your own smartphone, and it needs to be compatible with Verizon service.

Tracfone contracts with Verizon to use their cell towers for service, but everything goes through Tracfone. If you go outside the coverage of Verizon, you may lose service, or run on lower speeds.

To get started with Tracfone BYOP, you will visit this Tracfone page and check that your phone is compatible by entering your ZIP code and MEID/ESN. Following the steps, you will be prompted to buy an activation kit, which will give you a SIM card and Network Access Code.

Additionally, you can go over to SaveonTracfone.com and buy the Activation kit there. You can choose between the 4G LTE and 3G kits, and it might be a few dollars cheaper.

Most users are reporting a quick and painless process, but you should be prepared if something doesn't work right, and you need to make a phone call to customer service.

Phone Requirements and Activating on Tracfone BYOP

tracfone 4G LTE
Activation Card for 4G LTE
The requirements for what kind of phone can be activated with 4G service on Tracfone seems a little more straightforward than before. You need a device that is compatible with Verizon 4G LTE, which includes a wide variety of top of the line devices. It also needs a clean ESN, which means it can't be in contract, or stolen.

A 4G LTE device will need a SIM card to connect with Tracfone, and this will come with your activation kit. On a side note, once you have activated a Verizon compatible 4G LTE device, you can take the SIM and move it to many other devices that would not be able to activate on their own. Not all the details are clear on this, but many users are confirming switching between devices.

This could be very convenient for those who want to have a backup device, since you could just buy another phone, and then switch the SIM card to it if you ever needed to.

To activate your phone, make sure you have the 4G LTE activation kit (or start by getting it, which will be mailed to you in about a day) and then proceed through the steps on the Tracfone website or by calling Tracfone.

To review, here are the steps:

1. Get a 4G LTE compatible smartphone that runs on Verizon and has a clean ESN (is not on contract or stolen) and test it on the Tracfone BYOP website.

2. Follow the steps on Tracfone and purchase your Activation kit (SIM card) and Network Access Code. The SIM card will be mailed to you. You can Also purchase this through SaveOnTracfone.com.

3. Activate your 4G device only at Tracfone.com or over the phone.

If you have thoughts or questions on this process, check out the comments below.

Where to Find Phones for Tracfone BYOP

You need a 4G LTE capable device that is for Verizon service (CDMA) to use it with Tracfone BYOP. Fortunately, there are many different phone options, and many different retailers to choose from. Used or new will work, as long as they are not currently under contract.

One of the cheapest and easiest places to find phones is online. You can quickly browse many different options and price points, as well as used, new and refurbished. Follow the links below to get started and see some of the options. Once you have a certain phone in mind, you can search for that device.

Search for Verizon 4G LTE phones on Amazon

Search for Verizon 4G LTE phones on eBay

There are many more retailers to search including Newegg, BestBuy and more.

To get some ideas, and for a full list of compatible phones for both 3G and 4G LTE, visit our Tracfone BYOP page.

We hope this covers the exciting news about Tracfone's slow expansion into 4G LTE and hope that they will also add support for 4G on GSM networks.

Please let us know if we missed anything, we strive to provide accurate and helpful information!

If you're interested in other phone options, visit our Cell Phone Reviews page which includes many Android devices like the LG Ultimate 2, which was our pick for the Best Tracfone Smartphone.

We have also created a list of the best Apps for Android with more than 40 great apps, almost all of which are free. I have found Clean Master App to be very handy for keeping my phone running well, and reducing wasted space.

Thanks for Visiting!