August 3, 2015

Tracfone Promo Codes for August 2015

Tracfone Promo Codes - August 2015

We gather and share the latest promotional codes valid for this month here on our blog, TracfoneReviewer, for your convenience in one easy to read list. There's nothing to click, and be sure to check the comments from other users!

tracfone promo codes 2015
Tracfone Promo Codes are Here!
Tracfone is a prepaid wireless cell phone company that provides both low cost service, and cell phones to use on their prepaid network. Minutes, or Airtime, are added through the use of prepaid cards with a variety of minute amounts that can be found in many retail stores and online.

When adding an airtime card you can also use a promotional code to get extra minutes for free. We work hard at monitoring and tracking this codes down to share with you for your convenience. Some Tracfone promo codes only work once per device, others only work for certain geographical locations, while still other codes can be used over and over again.

Please be aware that promotional codes cannot be used with Tracfone's Android smartphones or their BYOP devices. If you're interested in learning more about these smartphones, like the new LG Sunset which uses 4G LTE on AT&T cell towers, visit our Android Tracfone List or the Tracfone BYOP page on our blog.

Tracfone continues to deliver better and better smartphones to use with their service, however, not everyone needs an Android device. If you want to see all our reviews, including a variety of older, non-smartphone devices, visit our Cell Phone Reviews page.

Time for the promo codes!

List of Tracfone Promo Codes for August 2015

Each of the codes is for a certain airtime card amount, but can also be used with cards of greater value (for example, the code for a 60 minute card should work for the 120 minute or 200 minute card as well).

60 Minute Card use code 12745 to get 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card use 78380 for an extra 30 airtime minutes (or try the code above)

200 Minute Card add promo code 89041 to receive 40 additional minutes

450 Minute Card enter code 24028 and get 50 minutes

400 Minute/1 Year Service card use 72454 for 250 free minutes

These are the latest codes valid through August 2015. If you don't find what you're looking for here, please visit our much larger list of codes, which includes codes we think might be expired but work for some, on our Tracfone Promo Codes page.

Take a moment and explore some of the other Tracfone related content we have on this blog, like our Beginners Guide to Tracfone or How to Set Up the Tracfone Family Value Plan.

Also remember to Follow us on Facebook if you want to join 1200 others who get the latest updates, promotional codes, and news shared on their feed.

Thanks for visiting, leave a comment with what codes worked for you (or didn't) and we hope you enjoy the free minutes!

July 29, 2015

LG Sunset Review - Tracfone GSM 4G LTE Smartphone

Review of the LG L33L Sunset from Tracfone with 4G LTE

This post shares the latest details on the LG Sunset from Tracfone. The Sunset is the second Android smartphone from Tracfone that uses GSM service. It is the first smartphone that is 4G LTE capable. This review by TracfoneReviewer, while cover the important specs and features, and include a comparison to other devices, and where to buy the phone.

tracfone 4g lte sunset
LG Sunset with 4G LTE 
Tracfone has released the first 4G LTE capable device for use with their prepaid service and it is called the LG Sunset (LG L33L). It is also unique being only the second Android device available for use with GSM networks. The LG Sunrise L16G (hopefully we won't get confused), is also a GSM capable device released by Tracfone, but with a smaller screen, lesser specs and no 4G.

For those who might be unfamiliar with Tracfone, they are a wireless prepaid service provider who also offers cell phones to use on their low cost service. Tracfone contracts with major service providers like AT&T and Verizon to use their networks for Tracfone prepaid service.

Tracfone also allows users to bring their own phones to Tracfone, recently adding GSM devices to their list of CDMA smartphones approved for use. Visit our Tracfone BYOP page for more information on that.

Over the last few years Tracfone has steadily closed the gulf that had opened between the phones they offered, and the phones available to consumers on other networks. At first we got very basic Android devices that were seriously lacking. But slowly more CDMA smartphones with better specs appeared.

And now Tracfone takes another step forward in closing the gulf (or, at least, not letting it get wider), but releasing the first 4G LTE capable device.

Tracfone had already been allowing customers to bring 4G LTE capable devices to use with Tracfone BYOP by purchasing an Activation Kit, but the LG Sunset is the first phone available directly through Tracfone.

Well, enough about the background details, let's take a look at this Android smartphone and see how it stacks up.

LG Sunset Features and Specs

Below are the features for the LG Sunset, followed by the technical specifications

LG Sunset Features and Details
  • Android 5.0.1 Lollipop
  • 4G LTE Connectivity through AT&T GSM Service
  • WiFI
  • GPS
  • Bluetooth 4.1
  • 5MP Camera (with Auto-focus and Flash) VGA Front Camera
  • Hearing Aid Compatible
  • Hands free Speaker
  • Triple Minutes for Life
  • Access to over a Million apps through Google Play store
  • Micro SD Slot for up to 32GB External Memory
LG Sunset Technical Specs List
  • Size: 5.11" x 2.55" x 0.43"
  • 4.5" Touchscreen (480x854 at 218 DPI)
  • 1.2 Ghz Quad Core Processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory (about 3-4 GB use-able)
  • Battery: 10 hrs Talk Time, 10 Days Standby, 1900 mAh battery
A great list of features and specs for the Sunset, but does it remind you of another phone? It should! It has the same features and specs as the LG Power (L22C) and LG Destiny (L21G) except for the 4G LTE connectivity. In case you were wondering, the 'L' in the Sunset's L33L name is for LTE. (However, the LG L21G is also listed as featuring 4G speed).

Let's get into some of the things we like and dislike about the LG Sunset.

LG Sunset Review - Likes and Dislikes

We will begin with the features we like best.

LG Sunset Likes
lg sunset review gsm
LG Sunset front, side and back
The Sunset is a really great device, so it is easy to run down a list of the features we are excited about in this device. The screen size is the same as the LG Power and LG Ultimate 2, at 4.5" which is a convenient size for most people.

Just like the Power, the LG Sunset comes with 1 GB RAM, 8 GB Internal Memory and a 1.2 Ghz Quad Core Processor. These are all very adequate and about the best you can get from Tracfone at this time. The Internal Memory is 8 GB, but closer to half of that is actually use-able. 4 GB is enough space for a variety of apps, but you won't be able to fit your music or video library on the phone without an External Micro SD card.

Android 5.0.1 is another prominent feature of the LG Sunset. If you prefer this newer version of Android, you will be happy to see it on the Sunset.

The biggest feature on the LG Sunset is the ability to connect to 4G LTE service through AT& GSM cell towers. Tracfone has contracted with AT&T to use their existing network of service to run Tracfone devices. With 4G LTE you get faster download speeds when surfing the internet on your phone so less time waiting for a video to load.

Previously, Tracfone only had Android smartphones available on Verizon CDMA networks, limiting consumers who didn't have good Verizon coverage in their area. Now you have another option in AT&T GSM service.

We are very excited about the 4G LTE feature this phone offers, because it is another step forward for Tracfone, getting better and better devices to use on their low cost network.

For a quick comparison of all the Android devices on Tracfone, visit our Android Tracfone List.

Now we will cover a few negatives for the LG Sunset

LG Sunset Dislikes
While there is not a lot we've found about the LG Sunset we don't like, there are a couple of features we would like to see improved.

The rear camera on the Sunset is fairly good with 5MP and autofocus. However the front camera is only 0.3 MP. This is adequate for video chatting, but might be lacking if you started taking photos in challenging lighting. We would want this phone to come with a better camera.

Internal Memory on the LG Sunset is modest, with 8 GB total, but about half of that used by the Operating System. This leaves around 4 GB for storing everything you plan to load on your device. There is an external Micro SD card slot, but not everything can be transferred. Tracfone customers have been longing for a device with better internal memory, and hopefully we will get something with closer to 16 GB in the near future.

Finally, none of the Android devices from Tracfone can be used with Tracfone Promo Codes. You do get Triple Minutes for Life, and minutes are split into text/data/calling, however, promo codes often help many users get enough minutes for their needs.

That covers the main points for the LG Sunset. Remember, you can also check out our Review of the LG Power for additional details and comments, because these phones share many of the same features.

LG Sunset Compared to the LG Ultimate 2, LG Power and BYOP Devices

So how does the Sunset compare to some of the other phones offered by Tracfone?

Well, as you should be aware of, the LG Sunset is basically the same as the LG Power and LG Destiny except for the 4G LTE on GSM networks. If GSM coverage is better in your area, then this phone is your best choice.

Compared to the LG Ultimate 2, the Sunset has slightly better specs, like a quad core processor, but abuot the same amount of internal memory. The only reason to switch from the Ultimate 2 would be if you preferred 4G LTE coverage on GSM networks.

As you can probably tell from this review, the main feature for the Sunset is GSM 4G LTE coverage. So if you would rather have GSM coverage, this phone is one of the best options currently available from Tracfone.

If you're not quite sure about what GSM means, visit our guide to the Difference between GSM and CDMA.

So how does the LG Sunset compare to phones you can bring to Tracfone BYOP's GSM service? Well, as you should expect, bringing your own device to Tracfone allows you to access many more options, and most of them are better than the LG Sunset. The Moto G (2nd Gen), LG U2, Samsung Galaxy S3 and other devices in this range can be found for around $200 and will generally come with better and/or larger screens, more internal memory, and perhaps similar or slightly better other features. But if you want to avoid the possible hassles of finding and activating a device on Tracfone BYOP, the Sunset is a great alternative.

Visit our Tracfone BYOP page which also includes a list of compatible devices, and lots of comments from uses with their experiences and questions. You can also see our recent post on where to find a GSM Activation Kit for Tracfone BYOP if you're ready to give it a try.

Conclusion and Where to Find the LG Sunset

We hope this helps you gain a better idea of how the LG L33L Sunset compares to other devices available. We would recommenced it if you are looking for a new device and prefer GSM coverage. We also expect Tracfone to continue to release new devices for GSM, however we don't know what kind of schedule this will follow, or if the devices will be any better than the Sunset.

Overall the LG Sunset is a good device, and a great option if you are looking to buy a smartphone int he near future. We haven't seen the Sunset available on the Tracfone website, but it is available through several other third party retailers.

The LG Sunset was offered for a limited time on HSN for $130 with a 400 Minute/1 Year card, but the price has increased to $150.

You can also find the LG Sunset with a 1 Year/400 Minute card on eBay for $150

We haven't seen the Sunset anywhere else yet, but will update as more buying options become available.

There are plenty of LG Sunset cases on Amazon, because the Sunset shares the same form as the Destiny, Power, Leon and several more devices.

You can take a look at the Interactive Tutorial for the LG Sunset to learn more about how the phone works.

If you're new to Android, you might find our List of the Best Android Apps a good place to start and see all the different possibilities.

Also take a look at our post on How Minutes Work for Android Tracfone Devices. This informative post shares some of the differences between Android phones and Non Android devices, and what it means for your minutes.

Keep up with the latest information and posts from us by joining over 1100 followers on Facebook!

Thanks for visiting and leave a comment with any questions or thoughts on this new smartphone.

July 15, 2015

GSM Activation Kit for Tracfone BYOP Available

Bring Your AT&T/GSM Smartphone to Tracfone

This information regarding bringing GSM devices to use with Tracfone is brought to you by TracfoneReviewer and we will continue to update and share additional information here as we know more. Stay tuned!

activate tracfone byop
News about Tracfone GSM Activation Kit
Tracfone Wireless appears to finally be allowing GSM users to bring their smartphones to use with the BYOP program. We've seen various signs of this over the past few months, and now it is becoming a reality.

Order a CDMA/GSM activation kit on the Tracfone website, have an AT&T compatible GSM device, follow the online instructions, and you should be up and running. It sounds simple, and maybe it is, but stick around as we look into bringing GSM devices to Tracfone.

For those who might not know, Tracfone is a low cost prepaid service provider. They also sell phones to use with their low cost service, as well as allow consumers to bring certain smartphones to Tracfone.

Until recently, you could only bring Verizon compatible CDMA phones to use with Tracfone. This was great, but for those who live in areas without Verizon coverage, you were out of luck.

But now Tracfone is offering the same option of bringing your own smartphone to use on Tracfone's GSM network (through AT&T). It also appears that Tracfone has released at least one GSM smartphone, the LG Sunrise.

Well let's jump straight into what you're probably looking for, how to get your unlocked GSM phone activated with Tracfone.

How to Get a GSM or CDMA Activation Kit

Tracfone BYOP GSM phone
If the first kit is sold out, try the kit with 60 Minutes (below)
To add your unlocked AT&T (GSM) or Verizon (CDMA) 4G LTE device to Tracfone you will need a NAC (Network Access Code) and SIM card. You can get both of these in a Tracfone Activation Kit.


You get everything you need to activate either a CDMA or GSM smartphone in one kit from Tracfone. At this point, you can find the Kit in stores, or online at the Tracfone website.

We ordered our kit by visiting this link, clicking select SIM, and then choosing the Activation Kit plus 60 Minute Card, because the Kit only option was sold out.

We received the kit in about a week, coming with both the kit and minutes.

activate gsm smartphone with tracfone
Tracfone GSM/CDMA Activation Kit (plus 60 Minutes)
Once you have the kit, and a phone, you can get started by visiting the Tracfone byop site and following the prompts for adding your phone. In some cases, consumers have had a quick and simple process of activating a new phone, while others have faced some challenges.

We will share additional updates on this once the kit arrives.

Should you Choose GSM or CDMA?

For quite a while now, Tracfone only accepted smartphones that used Verizon CDMA service. This limited smartphones to only those in areas with good Verizon coverage.

Now that is changing as people in GSM areas with AT&T coverage can also use smartphone with Tracfone service. But which one is right for you?

We created a resource that goes into the Difference between GSM and CDMA that you can take a look at if you are not sure about your situation.

For more information about bringing your own phone to use with Tracfone, visit our Tracfone BYOP page.

Will Tracfone Release more GSM Smartphones?

This is a common question we see, although usually it is, 'Will Tracfone release a GSM Phone soon?', but now that the LG Sunrise has appeared, we expect Tracfone to continue to, although perhaps slowly, release newer and better GSM smartphones. We saw this with the CDMA smartphones, and Tracfone has continued to offer newer devices with better specs.

So if you don't want to try bringing your own device to Tracfone, it shouldn't be too long before more GSM smartphone options are also available.

Check out the comments section below and leave a comment with your questions or experiences using Tracfone BYOP, and if you've been able to activate a GSM phone on their service.

Also visit our Facebook page with a community of over 1100 users where we share the latest news, updates and deals.

Thanks for visiting!

July 6, 2015

Tracfone Promo Codes for July 2015

Tracfone Promo Codes - July 2015

Each month TracfoneReviewer collects and checks the latest promotional codes for Tracfone and shares them here on the blog for you to use and benefit from. There's nothing extra to click, and be sure to check the comments from other visitors!

tracfone promo codes july 2015
Tracfone Promo Codes for July!
Tracfone is a cell phone and service provider that sells prepaid airtime and inexpensive phones to use with their airtime. Airtime, or minutes, often come in a range of cards that you can buy in retail stores, or many places online.

When adding airtime minutes to your phone, you can also use a promotional code to get additional minutes for free, beyond the minutes you get for a double or triple minute phone. We monitor these promo codes and provide them here for you to use. The codes listed below on this page are just the latest codes for July 2015. To see our complete list with many more codes, visit our main Tracfone Promo Codes page.

Please note that these promo codes cannot be used with Android devices, like the new LG Power which we recently reviewed. However, visit our Android Phone List if you would like to see all of Tracfone's smartphone devices in one place.

When adding these codes, we recommend you add them online, on the Tracfone website, where you can try the codes more than once in case the first option doesn't work. You can also call Tracfone and add the minutes through that.

Now, let's get to the list of promo codes that have been updated for July 2015.

List of Tracfone Promo Codes for July 2015

Each code is for a specific airtime card, but can also be used on any card of greater value. (The code for a 60 minute card can also be used on a 120 minute card etc.)

60 Minute Card use code 12745 for 60 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card enter 79679 or 12745 and get 60 extra minutes

200 Minute Card add promo code 79679 to receive 60 bonus minutes

450 Minute Card use 17921 for an extra 50 minutes free

400 Minute/1 Year Card use code 45160 or 17321 to get 250 additional minutes

Hope these codes work for you and enjoy the free minutes! Drop a comment with which codes are working for you.

We have more on this blog besides codes! We share lots of additional information relating to Tracfone, so take a moment to explore if you feel like it.

We have a full page all about the Tracfone BYOP program, which allows you to bring your own smartphone, like an iPhone 5 or LG G2 to use with Tracfone.

You can also visit our helpful post on the Beginners Guide to Tracfone which shares a lot of general knowledge about the different phone options with Tracfone, and how to get a great deal on minutes.

And if you're not already apart of the 1000+ following us on Facebook, you might be missing out on important news and updates!

Thanks for visiting!

June 25, 2015

Tracfone Discounts and Sales for Summer 2015

Deals and Discounts on Tracfone - July 2015

Below are a variety of great discounts on Tracfone related items including phones and airtime. TracfoneReviewer works hard to find ways to save you money and we hope these deals work for you!

tracfone discounts
Tracfone Deals and Sales Summer 2015
Everyone loves a good deal on Tracfone minutes or phones, but it can be hard to know if you're really getting the best price. We work hard at keeping up with the latest discounts or sales around the web and share them here with you for your convenience.

For those who might not know, Tracfone is a wireless prepaid cell phone and service provider. They contract with several different major wireless companies and use their cell towers to give you service. Tracfone offers many low cost phones, and airtime plans with no contracts.

They are a great deal for those who don't need to use a cell phone too often. For more on the basics of Tracfone, read our Beginners Guide to Tracfone.

Many of Tracfone's devices are available on eBay and Amazon at a variety of price points. And with their Android smartphones, which are often listed for over $100 on their website, tracking down a discount can be the difference between upgrading your phone or just sticking with what you have.

If you are looking for a new smartphone, our Android Tracfone List features all the phones in one place with basic specs for you to quickly compare the different options. Currently, the LG Ultimate 2 and LG Power our two of the best options.

Well it's time to get into the savings with our Tracfone deals and discounts for the summer.

Tracfone Sales and Discounts July 2015

These deals are listed in no particular order, so scroll through and check out the options that interest you. Some of these deals are for just a phone, or a phone and minutes, or just airtime minutes.

LG Power with 1200 Minutes on eBay for $129

The LG Power is one of the latest smartphones to come to Tracfone and the only one with Android 5.0 (at this time). It also has a 4.5" screen, quad core processor and many more great features that put it right up next to, or even a little ahead of, the LG Ultimate 2. View our Review of the LG Power to learn more about this phone and see comments from other users.

It isn't currently listed on the Tracfone website, but that is common for Tracfone to not list all the phones they offer. This deal delivers the LG Power plus 1200 minutes for just $129. The minutes are worth about $100, leaving just $29 for this phone that goes for over $100 by itself at this time.

If you're looking to upgrade your phone to one of the best smartphones currently available from Tracfone the LG Power is a great option.

View the LG Power with 1200 Minutes on eBay

Moto E with 1200 Minutes on eBay for $99

The Moto E is a solid performing smartphone with a 4.3" touchscreen and Android 4.4. It also has a dual core processor and battery life that is very impressive for a smartphone. It does not have all the features of a phone like the LG Power, but is a well designed phone built for good performance. View all the details for this phone on our Moto E Review.

The Moto E is listed on the Tracfone website for $119 for just the phone. But with this deal on eBay you get the phone, plus 1200 minutes (a 400 Minute/1 Year card tripled to 1200) for $100! The minutes alone are usually $100.

View the Moto E with 1200 Minutes on eBay

Samsung Galaxy Stardust for $69 on Amazon

The Samsung Galaxy Stardust is a recent addition to the Tracfone lineup and brings some great features to a 4" touchscreen phone. It runs Android 4.3, and has a dual core processor with 1 GB of RAM. View more specs and features for this phone on our Review of the Samsung Galaxy Stardust.

Tracfone currently has the Stardust listed on their website for $119, but you can get it for just $69 on Amazon.

View the Samsung Galaxy Stardust for $69 on Amazon

LG Optimus Fuel on Amazon for $27

Not everyone wants a big screen for their smartphone (although most people do) and the LG Optimus Fuel is for those people with a 3.5" touchscreen and Android 4.4. This phone is a lot of phone in a small size. You can learn all about this device on our LG Optimus Fuel page.

At just $27, this is one of the cheapest smartphones available with Tracfone that is actually worth getting. It isn't for the power user, but will function great for most uses. The Optimus Fuel is not currently listed on the Tracfone website, which means it is likely out of stock.

View the LG Optimus Fuel for $27 on Amazon

White LG Ultimate 2 with 1200 minutes for $129 on Amazon

tracfone sale lg ultimate 2
White LG Ultimate 2
If you're looking to stand out a little, or just like your phone in white, than this is the deal for you. The LG Ultimate 2 is one of the best smartphones currently available from Tracfone and comes with a 4.5" touchscreen, dual core processor, Android 4.4 and almost 4GB of internal memory.

This is a pretty good deal, with 1200 minutes typically going for $100, thus getting you the phone for $29. We listed this here because it is a white LG Ultimate 2 and they are somewhat less common than the regular version. If you're looking for more information on this phone, a lots of comments from users, read our Review of the LG Ultimate 2.

View the White LG Ultimate 2  with 1200 minutes on Amazon

That's our current list of deals on Tracfone devices for the Summer 2015. Please leave us a comment if you find a great deal!

It's all Android smartphones listed in this post, as that is the direction Tracfone is moving towards. You can learn more about the differences between Android and Non Android if you aren't sure about switching. And we also have a List of the Best Apps for Android.

One drawback to Android phones on Tracfone is that you can't use Promo Codes for extra minutes.

Thanks for visiting and we hope these deals will ave you some money. Check back in the near future for our next list of deals or Follow us on Facebook where we share lots of news and information!