January 23, 2015

What is the Best Tracfone?

Which Tracfone Device is the Best?

This a popular question here on TracfoneReviewer, and we will share with you which Tracfone smartphone is the best overall phone, as well as compare it to the other options available.

what is the best tracfone
Our Pick for the Best Tracfone Device
Tracfone has released many new phones over the last year for use on their wireless prepaid network. This includes mostly Android powered smartphones. And we're expecting them to continue to release newer and better phones.

It is also possible to bring your own phone to Tracfone. This opens the door to many more devices, although it is still somewhat limited. Visit our Tracfone BYOP page for the full list of phones.

With all these different devices, sometimes we just want to know which one is the best phone to buy?

We are here to answer that question! We will cut to the chase and just tell you, and then explain why:

TracfoneReviewer's pick for the best phone as of January 2015 is the LG Ultimate 2.

Before you jump to the comments section and post why it isn't, we do want to say that the LG Ultimate 2 isn't the best phone for everyone. It has certain features that make it the best phone for most people.

So we will compare the LG Ultimate 2 with several other phones, which may be better options for you, including the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop, Moto E, and Moto G and share why the Ultimate 2 wins overall.

LG Ultimate 2 Comparison

The LG Ultimate 2 has a lot of great features that put it well beyond many other Tracfone devices. But there are some other recent phones which have great features as well.

We will be quickly covering some of the other best phones currently available from Tracfone, and hopefully giving you a better idea about what each phone offers, and which one might be the best for you.

Let's get started.

LG Ultimate 2 Vs Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop

best tracfone cell phone
Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop
The Alcatel Onetouch and Ultimate 2 were each released about the same time, in November 2014. They each offer a lot of great features, with several similarities like Android 4.4, 5MP rear camera with front camera (and autofocus), 1 GB RAM, WiFi, GPS, etc.

But there are also some key differences which we will go into now.

One of the most obvious differences when comparing these phones is the size difference. The LG Ultimate 2 has a 4.5" screen while the Alcatel has a larger, 5" screen. However, the Ultimate 2 has a higher pixel density, so images might look slightly better on the Ultimate 2.

For processing power, these two phones are fairly similar with the Ultimate 2 using a 1.2 Ghz Dual Core and the Alcatel using a 1.2 Ghz Quad Core. The extra cores on the Alcatel Onetouch help it keep up with the large screen, and increase its multitasking ability.

Now for a major difference that isn't always clear. The Alcatel Onetouch comes with about 2 GB of usable memory on the phone to store apps and other information. The Ultimate 2 has closer to 5 GB of internal storage. Both phones also have external memory slots, but not all apps are transferable to external memory, and it is usually nice to have more space for storage.

So as you can see, both phones offer great features, but in our opinion the LG Ultimate 2 is the better phone overall. But if you want the largest screen, go with the Alcatel and you won't be disappointed.

LG Ultimate 2 Vs Moto E

whats the best tracfone
Tracfone Moto E
The Moto E was also released about the same time as the LG Ultimate 2 and shares some similar features like 1.2 Ghz Dual Core processor, 1 GB RAM, 5 MP camera, Android 4.4, WiFi, GPS, etc.

Yet it lacks some important features, like a front facing camera or autofocus.

The Moto E also has a smaller screen, at 4.3", but with greater PPI.

The Ultimate 2 beats the Moto E on internal storage, with the Moto E only coming with around 2GB of usable space. Both phones have external SD card slots.

Where the Moto E does excel is in battery life and performance. It is a well made phone that can keep up with almost all modern apps and any other requirements, and easily last the full day on moderate to heavy use. The LG Ultimate 2 also does well performance and battery wise.

In the end, the Ultimate 2 wins because of the features the Moto E just doesn't come with. Yet the Moto E is a great choice for those who don't need to take selfies, and don't need a lot of space for apps.

LG Ultimate 2 Vs Moto G

Well, the Moto G sounds familiar right? It should, because it is the big brother to the Moto E, and improves over that phone in many great ways that put it on par with the Ultimate 2, such as 5 MP rear camera and 1.3 font camera with autofocus, 1 GB RAM, Android 4.4, 4.5" touchscreen, WiFi, GPS etc.

Before we get further, one major difference between these phones is that the Moto G only can be used with the Tracfone BYOP program, which means you have to find a phone that was previously used on Verizon, and then go through a process to activate it on Tracfone. For some, this has been an easy process, for others it has been much harder. The Ultimate 2, on the other hand, is activated normally with Tracfone, as you would any other Tracfone branded device.

Now for some more key differences. The Ultimate 2 comes with 6 GB of internal spaces, with over 4 GB of it usable. The Moto G has 8 GB, with over 6 GB usable. However, the Moto G does not have an external SD card slot, so no extra memory can be added.

The screens for both phones are the same size, but the Moto G has a much better screen quality and resolution, at 720x1280, with the Ultimate 2 using 800x480.

For processors, both phones have 1.2 Ghz, but the Moto G processor is Quad Core and the Ultimate 2 has only a Dual Core. The Moto G has a slightly newer processor and graphics, making it better at handling the latest apps.

Battery life for both phones is very good, but the Moto G has been crafted specifically with power saving in mind, leading to a full charge easily lasting two days with low to moderate use.

The Moto G beats the LG Ultimate 2 in many categories, yet we have a hard time giving it the top spot because it isn't as easy to find and activate, which is a big factor.

In the end, the LG Ultimate 2 is close or even with the Moto G on many features, but is easier to use with Tracfone, and has the ability for extra memory. It's a close call, but we choose the Ultimate 2.

If you're looking for the best specs, go with the Moto G on Tracfone BYOP (and that post will help give you the information you need to make it happen).

Where to Buy the LG Ultimate 2

The LG Ultimate 2 is widely available on Amazon, eBay and other online retailers. The best deal is to buy it bundled with minutes, where you can often save $50 or more. Check out these deals:

LG Ultimate 2 with 1200 Minutes on Amazon for $149

LG Ultimate 2 with 1200 Minutes on eBay for $149/free shipping

We hope you found this comparison useful, and that it helped answer your questions. If you have more questions, or wish to share your opinions, use the comment section below.

For a complete list of all the smartphones available from Tracfone, visit our Android Tracfone List. You will also be able to compare key features from each of the phones to help you choose the best option that fits your needs.

Visit the Cell Phone Reviews page for an index of all our reviews and a great place to start when shopping for a phone.

Finally, we recently completed a Beginners Guide to Tracfone, which shares a lot of useful tips and information and may be helpful even if you've been with Tracfone for a long time.

Thanks for visiting!

January 13, 2015

How to Test More than One TracFone Promo Code

How to Try More Than One TracFone Promo Code When Adding a New Card

Have you ever wanted to use a promo code, but you weren't sure if it would work? Or have you actually used one, but it was expired so you didn't get any bonus minutes?

Avoid missing out on these bonus minutes by using this simple method for adding a new phone card to your TracFone Prepaid Phone.

Note: Android phones can't receive bonus minutes, so this process won't work if you are using an Android powered smartphone like the LG Ultimate 2, Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop or Moto E. (but these phones are very good, and worth looking into!)

Enter Your Promo Code at TracFone.com and Test up to 3 Different Promo Codes!

add tracfone minutes
Add Airtime Card Online
Here is how to try several different promo codes:
  1. Go to Tracfone.com 
  2. Click 'Add Airtime' in orange at the upper right side of the screen, then click 'Add Card Online' from the drop down menu.
  3. This will bring up a popup window, where you can enter your Airtime PIN, Telephone number, and Promo Code. Sometimes you will be taken to a new page where you can enter this information.

If your first code doesn't work, a message should pop up and say that it is expired, etc. You are then able to try a different promo code.

how to add tracfone minutes
Tracfone Minutes Popup
You can try up to three promo codes. On the third try, whatever pin/promo code combination you have used will be processed. If that promo code is expired, then you won't get any bonus minutes. So always make sure the third promo code you enter is working.

You can end the transaction before entering the third promo code, allowing you to restart the process and not miss out on getting some bonus minutes!

Using this method allows you to try one or two codes that might be expired without missing a chance to get bonus minutes.

Be sure to check out our list of TracFone Promo Codes to find a few to try next time you add minutes to your phone!

You might also be interested in some of our other recent posts about Tracfone:
Tracfone GSM vs CDMA Phones - What's the difference and why its important for you to know.
Android Tracfone List - See all the Android phones from Tracfone in one place!
Tracfone BYOP - All the information on the new 'Bring Your Phone to Tracfone' program including requirements and a compatible phone list.
Beginners Guide to Tracfone - Learn more about what Tracfone offers, and how it works wth

Thanks for visiting, leave a comment with any questions or thoughts.

January 5, 2015

Tracfone Promo Codes for January 2015

List of Tracfone Promo Codes for January 2015

Every month TracfoneReviewer lists the latest promotional codes from Tracfone here for your convenience! We hope you enjoy the free minutes, and Happy New Year!

tracfone promo codes january 2015
New Promo Codes for January 2015!
Tracfone is a prepaid wireless cell phone company with low cost phones and service options. They also provide promo codes which can be entered when purchasing minutes for additional free minutes!

The codes are for specific minute card amounts, but will work with any higher card as well. So a code for a 60 minute card will work with any other card of greater value, like the 120 minute card or 200 minute card.

If you're new to Tracfone, or want more of an explanation about what Tracfone offers, visit our new post, the Beginners Guide to Tracfone which includes lots of helpful information to get you started.

We collect these codes from around the internet and provide them here for everyone to use without anything you need to do or click.

Please note that these codes won't work with any Android Tracfone devices, which is unfortunate. But the Android phones are really great, and come with some impressive features.

Take a look at the Android Tracfone List, which is where we have shared all the Android smartphones in one location so you can easily compare them. The top choices for Android phones from Tracfone right now are the LG Ultimate 2, Moto E, and Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop.

Well, let's get to the codes for January!

Tracfone Promo Codes - January 2015

Use these codes when you add airtime to your phone. Bonus Minutes don't work on Android phones. Also remember that the codes will work for a certain card, and any card of greater value.

60 Minute Card - enter code 71287 for 30 free minutes

120 Minute Card - use promo code 79679 for 60 minutes, or 18137 for 30 bonus minutes

200 Minute Card - use 66857 and get 40 bonus minutes (or use 79679 from above and get 60!)

450 Minute Card - code 91951 gives 50 bonus minutes, but may expire in January, so use one of the codes above instead if it doesn't work

1 Year/400 Minute Card - enter promo code 70583 to receive 250 free minutes

These are the latest Tracfone codes for January 2015. We hope you find this useful, and get some free minutes! Leave a comment below if you use one of the codes, and let us know how it worked! View the full list of codes on our main Tracfone Promo Codes page.

We've got lots more great information about Tracfone here on the blog, so take a look at some of these posts and see if they interest you!

Check out our list of 5 Great Deals and Sales on Tracfone Devices for 2015!

Learn about the possibilities of using phones like the Moto G and iPhone 4S with Tracfone on the Tracfone BYOP page.

See our list of the Best Android Apps for Tracfone users, and add your suggestions.

Lastly, if you're in need of a cover or case for your phone, we're working on a list of Tracfone Covers and Cases.

Thanks for visiting, and join us on Facebook to keep up with all the latest!

December 29, 2014

New to Tracfone? Start Here! - Tracfone Beginners Guide

Learn How to Get Started with Tracfone Prepaid Service

tracfone for beginners
Getting Started with Tracfone
If you're new to Tracfone, or trying to learn about it, this is a great place to begin.

We are going to go through the very basics of what Tracfone is, what they provide, and how to get your phone up and running!

We will also give a general overview of the prepaid minutes you need for calling and texting, and also the phones you can buy and use with Tracfone.

Let's get started!

What is Tracfone?

Tracfone is a low cost wireless prepaid cell phone company. They provide both cell phone service, and phones to use with their service.

If you would like more general information on Tracfone, go check out our page, About Tracfone (and then come back).

What Does Tracfone Offer and How Do Minutes Work?

Tracfone offers prepaid cell phone service in the form of minute cards, with values ranging from 30 minutes to 1500 minutes. Some options are only available online at the Tracfone website, but many prepaid minute cards, like the 60, 120, 200, 450 and 400/1 year cards are available from many different retailers, both in stores and online. (You can find cards at stores like Walmart, Target, Dollar General, Amazon, and eBay)

tracfone for beginners
Tracfone 1 Year/400 Minute Card
Unless otherwise marked, most of the minute cards come with 90 days of service. So, for example, if you buy a 60 minute card (which usually costs $20), you get 60 minutes for calling and texting, and also 90 days of service time

If you use all the 60 minutes, you can't make any more calls or texts. And if you get to the end of the 90 days, you also can't make any more calls or texts. So you don't want either to run out!

The nice thing is that minutes and service days roll over. So if you already have 100 minutes, and 10 service days, when you add a 60 minute card, you will end up with 160 minutes and 100 service days!

So its good to keep a little bit of a buffer on your minutes/service days.

Many Tracfone devices come with either Double Minutes for Life or Triple Minutes for Life. These are great bonuses that make it so every minute you add to your phone will be either doubled, or tripled. Look carefully at the descriptions for Tracfone devices to see which they include. Most newer Tracfone's come with Triple Minutes for Life, including all the Android phones.

Tracfone service can be very low cost, as little as $10 a month. And some options even take away the worry of keeping track of your minutes.

The Tracfone Family Value Plan is a great deal for getting minutes and service days automatically added to your phone each month with no hassle. Visit our Guide to the Tracfone Family Value Plan to learn more!

Tracfone also provides its own phones to use with its service. These include both smartphones and regular phones. They have a fair number of options, ranging from $10 flip phones, to $100 Android powered smartphones. We will cover more details on the phones offered by Tracfone a little further below.

Minutes are deducted for calling or receiving calls, and for sending or receiving texts, and also for surfing the web.

On Android smartphones, minutes are split into three pools, one for calling, texting and data. Learn more about how minutes work by reading our Guide to How Minutes Work with Tracfone Smartphones.

Now, let's move on to activating your Tracfone.

How to Setup Your First Tracfone

Setting up a new Tracfone devices is fairly easy, and can usually be done in a few minutes, with it taking a few hours to fully activate.

Each Tracfone device should come with a small red card that includes instructions, and the phones serial number which you will need to register the phone.

You can activate your phone by following the directions, and either calling Tracfone or going online to their website. You can choose to either activate your phone with a new number, or transfer your number from your old phone.

The process for activating phones with Tracfone is usually very easy, and doesn't take much time. But occasionally, and especially with BYOP phones or Android phones, you might run into problems that cause it to take longer. The key is to be persistent and patient.

Once your phone is activated, you will be able to manage your minutes on the home screen (except for the smartphones, which can't display that). You can also check your minutes by signing in to the Tracfone website and going to your account page.

Now that your phone is all set, you can add minutes to it, and start enjoying the freedom and flexibility of a no-contract phone.

Cell Phones Available with Tracfone

As we mentioned above, Tracfone provides its own devices for use on their cell phone network. They get these phones through partnerships with many major cell phone makers like LG, Samsung and others.

Tracfone cell phones cannot be used on other networks, and other cell phones (except for BYOP phones) cannot be used with Tracfone.

There are three general categories of Tracfone devices that we will explain:

  • Non-Android Phones
  • Android Smartphones
  • BYOP Phones

The Non-Android phones are the cheapest, and usually include flip phones, some touchscreens, and other 'basic' phones which do calling and texting well, but might not have internet capabilities. These phones may have double or triple minutes included, and often have long battery life.

These phones have been around for a while, and are generally durable and get the job done. Some examples include the LG 530G and LG 306G.

See these and many more phones on our Cell Phone Reviews page.

Tracfone Beginners guide
Moto E - Android Tracfone
Android Smartphones are a little more expensive, but come with the Android Operating System which is a standardized OS making it possible to download and use a huge variety of Apps through Google Play. This adds amazing potential to these phones, and a long with internet connectivity, you can do a lot beyond calling and texting.

The Android phones significantly range in prices and specifications. The LG Optimus Dynamic can sometimes be found for just $20, while the LG Ultimate 2, and Moto E are closer to $100, but are probably worth it. All Android phones come with Triple Minutes for Life.

Learn more about these and other Android phones on our Android Tracfone List.

Lastly, Tracfone recently created a new program called 'Bring Your Own Phone' or BYOP, which allows users to bring a Verizon CDMA device to use with Tracfone. This has opened the door to phones like the iPhone 4S, and Moto G. The BYOP program is still a little new, and details are not always clear. But you can find everything we know, on the Tracfone BYOP page.

These are the three basic categories of phones available with Tracfone. Each category offers different things to users.

Tracfone Promo Codes

If you're new to Tracfone, you might not know about Tracfone Codes! Basically these are codes provided by Tracfone which will give you extra minutes for free whenever you add a new prepaid minutes card. There are certain codes that work for different Cards.

Visit our Tracfone Promo Codes page for all the codes, and more details.

Unfortunately, these codes won't work with BYOP or Android phones.

Additional Tracfone Resources and Helpful Links

We want to share a few more additional resources for learning more about Tracfone, and getting the most from your device. So browse the following links and take advantage of the information.

For the latest deals and sales on Tracfone devices, head over to our Deals and Discounts category which features periodically updated blog posts that share the lowest prices on Tracfone devices and minutes.

If you have a new smartphone, two posts which are great resources are The Best Android Apps for Tracfone, and Tracfone Smartphone Cases and Covers.

Debating about buying a smartphone? Our list of 6 Major Differences Between Android Smartphones and Non-Android phones may help you with that decision!

Well we hope this information will help you out, and be sure to leave a comment if you have questions! Also share this along with a friend who could also use it!

And if you want to keep up with us and the latest news and info, follow us on Facebook.

December 22, 2014

Tracfone Sales and Deals for 2015!

Sales and Discounts on Tracfone Minutes and Cell Phones for 2015

Enjoy this list of great deals and sales we've tracked down for you. These are some of the best prices we've seen, and are through a variety of different sources. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

tracfone sales 2015
Deals, Discounts and Sales on Tracfone!
Ring in the new year with some fantastic deals on Tracfone devices and minutes. These discounts will hopefully make 2015 a little brighter!

Finding the best prices on stuff can be a challenge, you just can't always tell when something is a good deal, or really on sale. But we monitor the prices for a wide variety of Tracfone products, and share the best deals with you here!

For those who might be unfamiliar with Tracfone, they are a low cost wireless prepaid cell phone company. They provide both cell phone service, and cell phones. To learn more about what Tracfone is and how it works, visit our About Tracfone page. You can also take a look at the cell phones available on our Cell Phone Reviews page.

Some of the biggest deals we share below are for the latest Android smartphones to come to Tracfone like the LG Ultimate 2 and Moto E. The deals we have found include not only the phones, but minutes as well for a great price! 

Well, let's get straight to the Tracfone deals for 2015!

Tracfone Discounts, Deals and Sales on Cell Phones and Minutes

Below are listed five great deals, check them out before they disappear!


The LG Ultiamte 2 is one of the latest smartphones to come to Tracfone. It features a 4.5" touchscreen, front and rear cameras, Dual-core 1.2Ghz processor, and about 4-5GB usable internal storage! Get more info on all the latest smartphones from Tracfone on our Android Tracfone List.

Buying the LG Ultimate 2 on sale with 1200 minutes is a great deal at $129 because the 1200 minutes (a 400 Minute/1 Year card tripled) are worth $100, making the phone cost only $30! You get a great smartphone, and 1200 calling minutes, texts and MB of data!



The Moto E is another smartphone from Tracfone running Android 4.4 with a 4.3" touchscreen. It also has a 1.2Ghz Dual-core processor, and rear camera. This phone is very fast, and has great battery life.

This deal includes the Moto E and a 400 Minute/1 Year prepaid card, which usually retails for $100. This means you basically get the phone for free! If you don't want the minutes, the Moto E is available by itself for $89 on Amazon.



With the largest screen (5"), the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop is a big phone that comes with a Quad-core 1.2Ghz processor, front and rear camera, and Android 4.4.

When the Alcatel was first released for Tracfone in Nov 2014, it started at $149 for the phone itself. Now you can get the phone PLUS a 400 Minute/1 Year card (worth $100) for $129! Its a great bargain.


4. LG 305C and LG 306G for $10 each

For those who don't need all the features of an Android phone, and want to keep more money in their pocket, the LG 305C/306G are going for a great price.

They come with a 3.5" touchscreen, and a variety of other features, and Triple Minutes for Life.

For those who might not know, the LG 305C is for people who use CDMA cell phone networks with Tracfone, and the LG 306G is for those who use GSM with Tracfone. Want a little more info on which is right for you? View our complete GSM vs CDMA blog post that not only provides definitions, but will help you know which one to use.

These phones are a great buy if you currently don't have a phone with Triple Minutes. For just $10 you will get your minutes Tripled every time you add more prepaid minutes! So if you add a 60 minute card, with these phones (and most Tracfone cell phones) you will get a total of 180 minutes!



Tracfone minutes have very consisten pricing, and usually can't be found at much of a discount. But this deal is for a 200 minute card that will be mailed to you for $32 including shipping. The 200 Minute card usually retails for $40, making this a savings of $8 or 20% off!

You will have to wait a few days, but will receive a card (or piece of paper) with the airtime PIN. Don't forget to use a Promo Code when you add the minutes!

View the Deal

Bonus Deal! Moto EX431G for $7

While the Moto EX431G isn't an Android phone, it does have Triple Minutes for Life, and plenty of the basic cell phone features you expect from a Tracfone device. it also has a nice QWERTY keyboard which makes texting fast and fluid.

This phone is a great buy if you don't already have a phone with Triple Minutes, or for a young kid who you don't really want surfing the net all the time.

View the Deal


Well that covers the best deals we've found. Let us know in the comments if you find more great deals!

If you're shopping for a phone, don't forget about the Tracfone BYOP program, which allows consumers to bring their own smartphones to use with Tracfone. This includes phones like the Moto G and iPhone 4S. Follow the link above to learn more.

We also recently shared our pick for the Best Android Apps for Tracfone users. Go check them out and let us know which apps are your favorite! And if you do have a smartphone, you should probably protect it with a cover or case. We list some of the most popular smartphones with Tracfone, and where to find great covers for them.

And if you like saving money, check out our post on the Tracfone Family Value Plan. It is a convenient way to get minutes every month, and also can be a great deal.

Thanks for visiting, and pass this along these deals to a friend!