November 23, 2014

Tracfone Gift Guide - Christmas Gifts for Tracfone Users

Tracfone Christmas Gift Ideas 2014

As the holidays quickly approach, we start to look harder and harder to find the right gifts for others. Sometimes this can be a real challenge! Certain people are just hard to find gifts for.
tracfone holiday gift guide
2014 Tracfone Christmas Gift Ideas

So we have created a Christmas Gift Guide with a wide variety of Tracfone related gear and accessories to give you some ideas for Christmas gifts this year!

Christmas can be a great opportunity to surprise someone with a new phone, upgrading them to something that will give them more minutes (like a triple minute phone) or a powerful Android smartphone.

Giving Tracfone cell phones to kids (at the appropriate age) is also a great gift, and it can even help teach them some valuable skills as they manage their prepaid minutes. The first section below will cover a range of Tracfone cell phone options,

But if you're not looking for new phones, there are plenty of other options too! There are extra prepaid minute cards that range in price and can be added to any Tracfone. There are also lots of accessories, including cases, covers, external batteries and SD cards!

Well, let's get to the gift ideas:

Tracfone Cell Phone Christmas Gift Ideas

Below are a selection of the newest smartphones along with some great value phones. All have triple minutes for life.

Newest Android powered Touchscreen Smartphones:

tracfone christmas gift ideas
LG Ultimate 2
LG Ultimate 2 - With a 4.5" touchscreen, 1.2 ghz dual-core processor, and Android 4.4, the Ultimate 2 is one of the latest smartphones available with Tracfone, and also one of the best.

The LG Ultimate 2 also has front and rear cameras, and over 4GB of usable internal memory along with an external SD card slot. Read up on all the specs for this phone, and see what others are saying, on the main page for the LG Ultimate 2.

The Ultimate 2 retails for about $130 and is not always available on the Tracfone website. However it is available through a variety of other retailers.

Where to find the LG Ultimate 2:
LG Ultimate 2 on Amazon
LG Ultimate 2 on eBay
LG Ultimate 2 on Newegg

Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop - Another recent phone from Tracfone, the Alcatel Onetouch has a massive 5" Touchscreen plus quad-core 1.2 ghz processor. It has many similar features as the LG Ultiamte 2, including front and rear facing cameras

The Alcatel comes with Android 4.4 and is the largest smartphone available with Tracfone at this time. You can see all the features and specs on our Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop page.

The Alcatel Onetouch initially was retailing for $150, but it has appeared on the Tracfone website for just $99. We're not sure if this is an error or not, or how long it will last, but look into it if you're considering this phone.

Where to find the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop:
Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop on Amazon
Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop on eBay

Moto E - Only just released, the Moto E is another smartphone with similar features as the phones above. It comes with a 4.3" screen, Gorilla Glass 3, rear camera, 1.2 ghz dual-core processor, and Android 4.4. It does not have a front facing camera, but the battery life for the Moto E is excellent.

Visit our Moto E page for full specs and details.

The Moto E wasn't on the Tracfone last we checked, but is available through other retailers for about $100.

Where to find the Moto E:
Moto E on Amazon
Moto E on eBay
Also reported available at Target

Great Value Smartphones and Other Phones:

LG Optimus Fuel - Another phone recently released by Tracfone, the Optimus Fuel comes with android 4.4, a 1.2 ghz processor, and 3.5" touchscreen. This is a compact, but powerful little device perfect for those who prefer a smaller size that can easily fit in your pocket.
tracfone gift guide 2014
LG Optimus Fuel

For more features and specs, visit the LG Optimus Fuel page.

The LG Optimus Fuel retails for $80 on the Tracfone website, but is much less through other online retailers. It is even advertised as low as $10 for in several Black Friday Deals. So act quickly if you're planning to get this phone.

Where to buy the LG Optimus Fuel:
LG Optimus Fuel on Amazon
LG Optimus Fuel on eBay
LG Optimus Fuel available through many other retail stores, and Black Friday deals.

LG 306G - This is a non-Android touchscreen phone that features Triple Minutes for Life (as do all Android smartphones). It has a 3.2" screen, camera, and connects to WiFi. Get all the details on this phone by reading our Review of the LG 306G.

The LG 306G is a good choice for those who aren't interested in the extra features an Android phone offers, or are simply looking for a solid phone for calling and texting. There is also a CDMA version of this phone, called the LG 305C.

The LG 306G is usually available through a variety of retailers, including the Tracfone website.

Where to buy the LG 306G:
LG 306G on Amazon (currently $15!)

If you're looking for more phone ideas, visit our Cell Phone Reviews where we have links to lots of phones, and their reviews.

For even more options, read up on the Tracfone BYOP program, and check out the list of phones on that page as well, which includes the Moto G that can be used with Tracfone.

Lastly, if you're just looking for Android phones, see all of Tracfone's offerings on our Android Tracfone List.

Now for some more holiday gift ideas!

Tracfone Accessories and Prepaid Minute Gift Ideas

Not everyone is in need of a new phone. But there are lots of other useful accessories that will make anyone already using Tracfone very happy.

The first option below are additional prepaid minutes for Tracfone. With Tracfone, you can buy prepaid cards of various amounts, and then use the unique PIN on each card to add minutes to any Tracfone device. This makes giving a prepaid card as a gift very easy, and is a great way to say, 'I want to stay connect!' to your friends and family.

Prepaid minutes can be purchased both online, and in stores. The benefit of buying online is that you can sometimes find a discount. Below are a variety of options for buying Tracfone Prepaid Minute Cards.

List of Prepaid Minute Cards

tracfone gift ideas
Tracfone 400 Minutes/ 1 Year card
Every Tracfone user knows how useful extra minutes on their phone can be. It is always nice to have a surplus of minutes or service days to allow you not to worry about it.

Buying minute cards online or in stores is very easy, and there are lots of different options, depending on how much you want to spend.

60 minute prepaid cards are the cheapest, at about $20, and give the user 60 additional minutes plus 90 more service days. The options continue, as you have a 120 minute card, 200 minute card, and 450 minute card, each a little more expensive, but giving more minutes. There is also a 400 minute card that comes with a full year of service and is usually about $100.

Where to Buy Tracfone Minutes:
Find Tracfone Prepaid Cards on Amazon
Find Tracfone Prepaid Cards on eBay
Find Tracfone Prepaid Cards in stores like Target, Walmart, Best Buy, Dollar General, and many gas stations and other retailers.

If you buy on the Tracfon website, the minutes will be added electronically rather than getting a physical minutes card with a PIN.

Be sure to also visit our Tracfoen Promo Code page to get additional minutes for free when adding a new card. (note that promo codes don't work with Android phones.)

Tracfone Cell Phone Cases and Covers

A cell phone cover or case can go a long way in protecting a cell phone, and add a nice accent or style to the phone. There are usually many options for each phone, especially for the more popular phones.

Smartphones especially benefit from a case or cover, which adds extra protection, and can even make the phone waterproof, depending on the case..

You can search for Tracfone cases on Amazon or eBay and find many options. If you search for the name of the phone, plus 'cover' or 'case', you should be able to find a number of options.

There are also plenty of options for screen covers, and even leather cases. Just be sure you know the type of phone you are buying the case for.

Some retail stores like Best Buy, Dollar General and others, may have cases and covers that fit Tracfone devices.

Cell Phone Chargers and Other Accessories

There are plenty of other gift ideas that a cell phone user may find useful, including car chargers, external batteries, and extra memory.

Below are some accessories that work with almost all phones from Tracfone, and will certainly be useful for Tracfone users.

Cell Phone Charger/Car Charger
An extra charger or car charger is a handy accessory to have especially for smartphone users, as these phones usually need to be recharged every 24 hours.

Many phones are using a standard Micro USB port for charging. You can find lots of options on Amazon for a Micro USB car Charger.

Some Tracfone devices use a variety of other connections, so you should check which connection you need before buying a charger.

Cell Phone Mount
Another handy idea (or hands-free idea) is a cell phone car mount, which holds the cell phone so you can keep your hands on the wheel.

Many mounts will hold a variety of different phones, and make using the phone's GPS much easier.

Cell Phone External Battery Charger
Smartphones are useful in so many ways, ranging from keeping in contact with others, to listing to music and playing games. But the battery just seems to drain so quickly, and sometimes we don't have access to a charger.

That's when you can use an external battery pack to store a charge for when your phone needs to be recharged while in a remote area.
tracfone gifts 2014
Solar Powered Charger

There are a wide variety of options to choose from, and a handful of different colors too.

If you really want freedom from the electricity grid while keeping your phone charged, check out Solar Powered Cell Phone Chargers, which are really cool power producing options. Pair this with an external battery pack, and you can stay charged no matter where you are in the world.

Micro SD Memory Storage
Most Tracfone cell phones have a slot for a Micro SD card which can store extra pictures, music, videos, games and more.

This is a convenient gift idea, and there are lots of options ranging form 2 or 4 GB up to even 32 GB.

Amazon offers a lot of options for Micro SD cards, and you can find them in the electronic sections of almost any retail store.

Be sure to double check that the phone will accept a Micro SD card, and that you choose the correct size. Most Tracfone Smartphones will accept up to 32 GB.

Tracfone Gift Guide Conclusion

We hope these ideas will give you some options for gifts for others, or even yourself. This list is not exhaustive, and if you have other ideas let us know in the comments! There are many more phone options, and plenty of other Tracfone related accessories, but these will help get your ideas going.

Be sure to also check out our Black Friday and Christmas Deals List which we will continue to update through the holidays!

Join our community of over 500 fans on Facebook where we post all the latest news, deals and updates. Plus lots of other people share great info too!

Thanks for visiting, and Merry Christmas from us here at TracfoneReviewer!

November 14, 2014

Black Friday and Christmas Deals on Tracfone!

List of Black Friday Sales and Deals on Tracfone

tracfone black friday sale
Black Friday Tracfone Deals!
As the holidays approach, there are lots of deals out there, and we want to provide a place to share them!

This post will share the best deals and places to find sales on Tracfone related gear, including phones, minutes and accessories.

We are counting on you, our loyal readers, who have already been sharing tips and deals on our Facebook page. Now, you can share the deals on the comments below, and find new deals for the phones and other gear you're looking for!

We will be including all deals for Black Friday through Christmas time, as there should be plenty of exciting sales.

Tracfone, which is a prepaid cell phone and service provider, has a number of new phones available including the LG Ultimate 2, Alcatel Ontouch Icon Pop, and LG Optimus Fuel.  Each of these phones runs Android 4.4, and offer all the typical features of a smartphone.

There are also a number of phones which work with Tracfone's 'Bring Your Own Phone' program, and can make great gifts. Visit our Tracfone BYOP page for the full list, which includes the likes of an iPhone 4S, and even the Moto G.

Black Friday, Cyber Monday and Christmas Sales:

These deals are for Tracfone related products that are discounted for the holidays, and may be available either in store, online or both.

Kmart - Black Friday - LG Optimus Fuel - $9.99 - LINK 
         Sears, Bestbuy, Meijer and others have the same deal

Dollar General - Black Friday - LG 305c, 306G for $9

Radio Shack - Black Friday - LG 440G - $2.99 - LINK

FRYS - Current Deal - New Verizon Moto G for $48 with promo code 4397819 - LINK

We will continue to add deals to this list as we find them.

If you don't know about our Tracfone Promo Codes page, be sure to take a visit. You can use promotional codes to get extra minutes on your phone for free. But these codes don't work for smartphones.

Do check out our Android Tracfone List, which has all the current smartphones in one easy to find place. Quickly compare features, and choose which one might be best for you.

Thanks for visiting, and leave comments with any deals you find!

November 13, 2014

Use the Moto G with Tracfone BYOP

How to Use the Moto G on Tracfone: A Guide by TracfoneReviewer

This Guide to using a Motorola, Moto G on the Tracfone BYOP program is put together by TracfoneReviewer with help from many visitors to this blog who shared their knowledge and experience.

moto g tracfone
Use the Moto G on Tracfone BYOP
The Moto G is a very popular mid-level smartphone widely available on many carriers, and unlocked. But wouldn't it be nice if such a solid Android phone were usable with Tracfone prepaid service? Well keep reading...

Tracfone is a prepaid, low cost cell phone and service provider. They offer minute cards with varying amounts of minutes, and cell phones to use the minutes with. 

In 2013, Tracfone first began offering Android powered smartphones for use on their prepaid network. Since then, they have continued to add new Android phones to the list of phones they offer. These Android phones are locked to Tracfone, and cannot be used with other providers. (See the full list of phones, with basic specs and features compared, on our Tracfone Android Phone List.)

And while the Android phones they offer are getting better, like the LG Ultimate 2 or Moto E, they still are a little behind, and have limited options.

And then came along the Tracfone BYOP program.

Introduction to Tracfone BYOP

The 'Bring Your Own Phone' program, or Tracfone BYOP, allows users to bring a wider variety of smartphones to use with Tracfone prepaid service. Phones are limited to only those that use Verizon 3G, but this still offers some great possibilities, including the Motorola Droid 3, Samsung Fascinate, and even the iPhone 4S.

See the full list of phones, and all the details on the program, on our Tracfone BYOP page.

These are pretty good phones, but not all of them have the latest operating systems, and some are a few years old. It would be nice to have a newer phone, with the latest OS and decent screen, with Tracfone's super low cost service. However, BYOP phones do receive Triple Minutes for Life which is nice.

The details on which phones work with Tracfone BYOP (beyond that it must be Verizon 3G) are a little murky. And it doesn't help that Customer Service are notorious for giving out bad information and telling customers one phone won't work, when later it does end up working. 

But there were hopes for the Verizon branded 3G Moto G, which retails for just $100 (or less) and is for use with Verizon prepaid service. 

Now, multiple sources are confirming activating a Moto G on Tracfone, so we are sharing this information with you so that you can have the option of using the Moto G with Tracfone BYOP if you so desire.

What is the Moto G?

The Moto G is an Android powered smartphone created by Motorola while they were owned by Google (Motorola is now owned by Lenovo)

The Moto G has a first and second generation, but we will be talking only about the first generation Moto G which was released in 2013. The newer Moto G (2nd gen) which was released in Sept. 2014, does not work with Tracfone at this time.

The Moto G (1st Gen) is a workhorse kind of phone that does the daily tasks efficiently and painlessly. It has a 4.5" IPS display with Gorilla Glass 3 protection that is stunning, especially when compared to more expensive phones. It features front and rear cameras, with flash and autofocus on the rear 5 MP camera.

Let's take a quick look at the list of specs for the Moto G:

Moto G Specs and Features

The Moto G has a number of features that are somewhat similar to the Tracfone LG Ultimate 2, with several noticeable improvements.
Moto G tracfone byop
Moto G Front and Back
  • Latest Android OS - Currently 4.4.4
  • 4.5" IPS Touchscreen (720x1280)
  • 5 MP Rear Camera, 1.3 MP Front Camera
  • Quad-Core 1.2 Ghz Processor
  • Adreno 305 Graphics
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 8 GB Internal Memory
  • Micro USB and 3.5mm headphone slots
  • GPS
  • FM Radio
  • Battery Talk time 24 hours
  • See even more specs at GSMArena.

A couple of key features that put the Moto G ahead of any of Tracfone's current phones are the processor, Internal Memory, Battery Life, Operating System, and Touchscreen.

The processor is a powerful quad-core 1.2 Ghz Cortex A7, a multitasking champ that runs well with the 1 GB of RAM. Internal Memory is 8 GB (some have 16) which is 4 GB more than current Tracfone devices, and is enough space to load all the apps you want.

The touchscreen is beautiful, and has plenty of resolution for this kind of price. The Moto G's battery is amazing, and can easily last two full days with moderate to low use. Surprisingly, the phone also charges very quickly. The long batter life isn't due to a large battery, but to the processor and other power-saving features.

Lastly, the Moto G will be getting Android 5.0 when it comes out, which none of Tracfone's other smartphones will get (except perhaps the Moto E). If you want the latest Android OS, the Moto G has you covered.

The Camera on the Moto G is fine, but doesn't really stand out, and can't compete with high-end devices like an iPhone or Nexus 6.

Finally, the fit and form of the Moto G is nice and comforting, giving the user a feeling of sturdyand ergonomic  construction.

Well, as you probably guessed, we are pretty big fans of the Moto G because of two key points: Price and Quality. For the money, there is probably no better phone currently available (besides the 2nd gen Moto G of course). But enough about the phone, time to share exactly how to get a Moto G working with Tracfone!

How to Use the Moto G on Tracfone BYOP

Now that you are familiar with what the Moto G offers, and what the Tracfone BYOP program is, we are going to share exactly how to get the Moto G to run on Tracfone BYOP. Note, there is no guarantee that a particular Verizon Moto G will work with Tracfone, but if you have the patience and are willing to take a risk, it is possible.

Step 1 - Find a used or refurbished Verizon (or pageplus) Moto G (1st Gen) on Amazon, eBay or elsewhere. The phone needs to have been used on Verizon prepaid for at least 6 months (we have not confirmed this, but it appears to be the case).

moto g on tracfone prepaid
Verizon Moto G
Step 2 - Go to Tracfone's BYOP page and enter the ESN/IMEI/MEID and follow the steps to register it, which includes a $10 activation charge. Note, this is the step that you might have the most difficulty getting through, as phones on Tracfone BYOP seem to be required to have been used on Verizon for a certain time, but no longer be active. If your phone fails the first time, you can try calling customer service, but that can be a challenge. Best advice from users is to have patience, and keep trying.

Step 3 - Once registered, log into your Tracfone account on the Tracfone website and choose "Transfer my Number and Service from One Tracfone to Another" and follow the steps there.

Step 4 - Your Moto G should be active in a few hours, or up to 24 hours. If it doesn't become active, you may have to call customer service to sort things out.

And now you have a Moto G active on Tracfone BYOP! This step by step guide was originally provided by an anonymous Tracfone user for TracfoneReviewer to share here. Thanks anonymous user!

Be sure to leave questions, thoughts and your experiences in the comments.

User Comments, Reports and First Hand Experiences

We want to share some of the comments and first hand experiences below for your convenience.

From Anonymous on Nov 4th, 2014:
Update on:November 2, 2014 at 3:38 PM My Moto G came today and I am on Tracfone, no problems and did it on-line too. This is a fantastic phone clear picture loud sound and it is like greased lightning. $9.99 for BYOP transfer and if you have an account just pick transfer you number to new phone. Look for Moto G refurbished and Verizon and Page Plus, clean ESN and right now going for less than $70.00 on Amazon. What a buy! Now it is learn how to operate this baby!
From Anonymous on Oct 18th, 2014:
Unlocked post paid verizon Moto G worked no problem. I am guessing this phone was flashed by ebay seller. It was advertised as being good for "PagePlus" also
From Anonymous on Oct 12th, 2014:
so all statements are not true to all extent i bought a new droid x2 "mb870"? no contract phone witch according to this post wont work anyway my steps to make it work step one set up with tracfone this alone wont work it will get activated to your account but the phone will not go through the activation to get that to work i had to call the (Verizon prepaid activation number "number" when i did this i received my telephone number (to let you know at this point i was completely pissed with tracfone and was just going to go to Verizon) when i got my number i thought at first it was a Verizon# so i went to the verizon site and entered the number but it said it wasn't a verizon number so i called back the tracfone support they said this is a tracfone number my best guess is that when i called the verizon act number it sent the unlock code well after a few min with tracfone the phone works.
The last comment, while a little hard to understand, seems to indicate that it may be possible, in a roundabout way, to activate new Verizon phones with Tracfone if you follow the right steps.

We hope this information, and the comments and input provided by anonymous users, will help you be able to activate a Moto G on Tracfone, if you so desire. Be sure to let us know how it goes, by leaving a comment below.

Be sure to visit our Tracfone BYOP page where there is lots of general information, and a lot of user comments. Also visit our Cell Phone Reviews page if you are looking for a new phone, but may want an easier route than the BYOP program. The Moto E is a great option, with somewhat reduced features compared to the Moto G, but still a solid phone.

We also share Tracfone Promo Codes each month, but unfortunately these codes don't work on Android phones.

If you're curious about how minutes work with smartphones, read our guide, How Minutes Work on Tracfone Android Phones. : D

Thanks for visiting! We will continue to update this as information becomes available. Keep up to date with us by following on Facebook!

Additionally, you can find a new Verizon Moto G on www.frys.com and use promo code 4397819 to get it for $48. But you may have to use it on Verizon prepaid for a few months before it will work on Tracfone. Thanks C. P. for the tip!

November 4, 2014

Tracfone Promo Codes for November 2014

List of New Promo Codes for November 2014 from Tracfone

Each month new Tracfone Promo Codes become available and provided below are the latest codes for November 2014. These codes are collected and shared here by TracfoneReviewer for your convenience!

tracfone code november
Tracfone Codes for November!
Tracfone is a low cost cell phone and service provider with a variety of phones and plans to choose from. As part of their cell phone service plans, they offer promotional codes for additional prepaid minutes for free!

When you add any 60, 120, 200, 400 or 450 minute prepaid card, you can also get free minutes by using one of the codes listed below. Each code will work for a certain card, or any card of higher value, so codes for the 120 minute card will also work with the 200 minute card, etc.

We also have a full page dedicated to promo codes, with lots more codes, at Tracfone Promo Codes. So take a look if you're looking for more options.

Recently, Tracfone released several exciting new Android Smartphones(see the full list) with much larger screens, and better performance.

The LG Ultimate 2 comes with a 4.5" screen, 1.2 Ghz Dual Core processor, and front/rear camera.

The Alcatel Onetouch ICON Pop has a 5" screen, 1.2 Ghz Quad Core processor and front/rear cameras as well.

The Moto E, while not available yet, is also a good looking phone, although the screen is 4.3" and it only has a rear camera.

See more on these phones, and others, on our Cell Phone Reviews page. And note, promo codes don't work with Android phones unfortunately.

Now, let's get to the latest codes for November!

Tracfone Promo Codes - November 2014

These codes are for the month of November 2014. Leave a comment below with how the codes are working for you. Codes don't always work, and are sometimes for certain phones or geographical areas.

60 Minute Card use code 59396 or 17202 for 30 bonus minutes

120 Minute Card enter code 17202 or 59271 for 30 and 20 free minutes (or 60860 if the others don't work)

200 Minute Card use promo code 32313 or 63863 for 50 free bonus minutes

450 Minute Card use code 32313 or 93528 for 50 extra minutes

400 Minute/1 Year Card enter 82786 or 69980 to get 250 free minutes!

We hope you found these codes useful, and were able to get some free minutes! Share which codes are working for you on our Facebook page!

If you're looking to bring your own phone to Tracfone, including the Moto G and iPhone 4S, we've got a page for you, check out our Tracfone BYOP page which covers lots of details, including what kind of phones are working.

In case you're not fully sure how Android smartphones use Minutes with Tracfone, we've got you covered wtih the information you should know, including how minutes are split into 3 'buckets' and much more.

Thanks for visiting, and take a moment to share this with others who might benefit from some free minutes!

October 22, 2014

Alcatel Onetouch ICON Pop - Available for Tracfone

The Alcatel Onetouch ICON Pop (A564C) Released for Tracfone

We are sharing details and specs below about the Alcatel A564C touchscreen smartphone newly released for use with Tracfone Wireless. TracfoneReviewer will continue to update this post as more information is available.

tracfone a564c alcatel onetouch icon pop
Tracfone Alcatel onetouch Icon Pop
See links at the end of the post for buying options from Amazon and eBay!

The Alcatel Onetouch ICON Pop has a really long name, and also a really large screen, the largest for a Tracfone device yet, at 5". This phone was released by Tracfone rather quickly, along with the LG Ultimate 2.

Tracfone is moving a little faster at adding new Android smartphones to their lineup that already includes several other options. But until now they were lacking a smartphone with a larger screen size, and the Alcatel Onetouch (and LG Ultimate 2) appears to fill that void.

The previous screen size options were the LG Optimus Fuel with a 3.5" touchscreen, and the LG Optimus Dynamic II at 3.8", among others.

The Samsung Galaxy Ace Style, with a 4" touchscreen, and the Moto E, with 4.3" touchscreen, are both expected to be released in the near future, but have been overtaken before even being released. The LG Ultimate 2, which was released at the same time as the Icon Pop, has a 4.5" screen, and shares many similar features and specs.

In case you're wondering (like we were), here is the breakdown of why the name is so long. Alcatel is the company name, Onetouch is the name of the line of phones, and Icon Pop ( or sometimes POP Icon) is the name of this phone. There are a few other Alcatel Onetouch phones, like the Pop Mega, and Pop Star, but Tracfone isn't adding them to their selection. Tracfone then classifies this as the A564C, with 'C' denoting that it uses CDMA technology.

Let's look at what you can expect from the Alcatel Icon Pop.

What to Expect from the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop on Tracfone

First off, the Icon Pop will be used on Verizon CDMA 3G service through Tracfone prepaid. This is the same as Tracfone's other Smartphone offerings at this time.

It will have Triple Minutes for Life, and minutes will be separated into Talk, Text and Data. For more info on this, read our post, How Minutes Work on Tracfone Android Phones.

The 5" touchscreen is obviously the most noticeable feature on the Alcatel A564C, but there are several other features that are very exciting for Tracfone users who are looking for an upgrade on their current phones.

Time to take a closer look at the Icon Pop features and specs.

Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop Features and Specs

We will cover the main features for the A564C, followed by the technical specifications below.
  • Android 4.4
  • 3G on Verizon networks
  • WiFi
  • 5MP Rear Camera
  • 0.3MP Front Camera
  • Bluetooth
  • GPS
  • Large Screen Icons
  • Hearing Aid Compatible, Hands free Speaker
  • MP3 Player, FM Radio
  • Triple Minutes for Life
  • Flashlight
  • Caller ID, Call Waiting, Voicemail, etc.
  • Voice Dialing
  • Access to over 1 Million apps via Google Play
Alcatel A564C Icon Pop Specs:
  • Size: 5.55" x 2.84" x 0.39"
  • 5" touschreen (854 x 480)
  • 1.2 Ghz Quad-core processor
  • 1 GB RAM
  • 4 GB Internal Memory(~2GB available), Up to 32 GB Micro SD card Compatible
  • Weight: 5.2 Ounces
  • 2000 mAh Battery with 9.5 hours talk time, 20 days standby (2.5 hrs to fully charge)
alcatel onetouch icon pop tracfone
Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop and 5" screen
A number of the features and specs listed above for the Alcatel Ontouch Icon Pop are improvements over Tracfone's older smartphones, and similar to the Moto E and LG Ultimate 2. Let's take a closer look.

One of the big features is the processor and RAM on the Icon pop. With a quad core and 1 GB, it should be able to keep up with your needs. The LG Ultimate 2 and Moto E each have 1 GB of RAM and 1.2 Ghz processors, but they are only dual core. Other Android phones like the ZTE Valet and LG Optimus Dyamic II are single core with 512 MB RAM.

Another big feature on the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop is the camera. It has a 5MP rear camera plus a 0.3MP front camera. And after looking through sources, it appears to have autofocus.

The Ultimate 2 also has a 5MP camera with autofocus, and 1.3MP front camera. But the Moto E only has a 5MP rear camera and no autofocus.

Lastly, the 5" screen is a nice feature, and a bit bigger than the other smartphones from Tracfone at this time as we mentioned above. Some sources indicate that it has a resolution of 854 x 480 while we found others saying 960 x 540. 

Our Thoughts on the Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop

This phone brings some great new features to the table with a 5" screen and quad core processor. While this phone is still at the low end of the smartphone market, it is ahead of many of Tracfone's other devices.

Each new phone that Tracfone releases pushes the list of features further and further into what other carriers are using. Tracfone is still behind the curve, but they are trying to catch up. It is unlikely they will ever sell top of the line phones with their prepaid service, but at least users can get some newer tech.

The Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop is a a great looking phone with a nice large screen, but is it better than the Moto E and LG Ultimate 2? Spec-wise, it does have more processing cores, and a larger screen, but each user must choose what is important to themselves when selecting a phone. Not everyone, for example, wants a 5" screen.

At $150 from the Tracfone website, the Alcatel Icon Pop is the most expensive Tracfone yet. We  have just found the Alcatel on Amazon, as well as eBay with several attractive minutes bundles, and at a slightly discounted price:

Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop available on Amazozn and eBay with Minutes options:

Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop on Amazon for $139 (plus $5 shipping)

Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop on eBay for $139

Alcatel Onetouch Icon Pop with 600 Minutes on eBay for $169

These are some pretty decent deals if you're looking to buy the phone along with minutes. Last check the Alcatel was in and out of stock on Tracfone's site. So if you are looking for this phone, you might want to move fast!

We will also be doing a full review of the Alcatel smartphone in the near future.

The Alcatel will be great for those looking for a big phone, and looking to impress with a large screen. Although these days, 6" screens or bigger seems to be necessary.

Let us know what you're thinking about this phone, and if you have any questions about it.

Here is the Alcatel ontouch interactive tutorial to see how the phone works.

If you're hunting for a new phone, consider the Tracfone BYOP Phone List page where we have lots of information on bringing your own phone to Tracfone, including the Moto G and iPhone 4S!

Also be sure to check out our Android Phone List and Comparison where we have all the Android phones from Tracfone in one place for easy comparison.

Thanks for visiting!